5Likes
  • 1 Post By Thalassa4
  • 2 Post By strawberrycrepe
  • 2 Post By Naturebound

#1 Old 11-09-2015, 06:19 PM
Vegan Writer

How Do You Care For Both Animal and Human Welfare

Hello, all!

I'm a newbie to this forum but have been vegetarian for 24 years, strict vegetarian for 3 years, and haven't knowingly purchased cruel products in a year. I'm trying more and more to get rid of anything I own that's caused harm to any animals, but it's been tough.

Here's my issue: what happens when avoiding animal cruelty means supporting a human rights issue you disagree with? For example, would you still buy vegan clothing from stores like H&M that violate child labor laws? Would you buy vegan products if you knew the company underpays it's foreign suppliers?

How do you save animals while doing as little harm to your own species as possible? And do you keep human rights issues in mind when making purchases or is it just about the animals?

Thanks so much for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-09-2015, 06:37 PM
Veggie Recycler

Well by being an ethical vegetarian, you are helping mankind by decreasing greenhouse gasses and saving water, especially if you are vegan. Everything is interconnected. The sooner people remember that, the better for us all.

As for cruelty free products, I don't support any corporation that exploits humans. I may accidentally purchase something, but I try to avoid Unilever, Nestle, Wal Mart, etc.

I'm honestly unclear on how clothes are vegan, outside of avoiding leather, and leather is not a product I ever really purchased for myself, though I wore it in the past because of relatives supplying clothes. Well, and not wearing feathers.

I mean are vegan clothing choices so limited that people are routinely forced to buy ones that exploit human workers?

I guess "buy local" is one of the safer ways to avoid this?
#3 Old 11-09-2015, 07:03 PM