cholesterol levels - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Auxin

#1 Old 10-05-2015, 11:05 AM

cholesterol levels

Hi everyone!

I had bloodwork done at work for a health program and my results came back saying that I need to see a physician asap due to extremely low LDL cholesterol of 29. (reference range is 60-129) I am a nurse and I was not aware that your "bad cholesterol" (LDL) could be "too low", only HDL. Can anyone shed some light on this? I asked a nurse practitioner who I work with and she said maybe I'm not getting enough protein. I looked through some literature and the affects of low LDL are simply not well researched. Any opinions would be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-05-2015, 06:05 PM
Vegan since 1991

If you were advised to see a physician ASAP, then it sounds like good advice to do so.

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
#3 Old 10-05-2015, 07:40 PM
Oryzatarian

I agree, ignore the nurse that thinks you have a ham deficiency and see a doctor.
It might be nothing, but then again it might be the first hint to an undiagnosed cancer.
Best to check it out.
LedBoots likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 10-05-2015, 07:58 PM

Maybe talk to a doc or nutritionist?
#5 Old 10-05-2015, 08:07 PM
Not such a Beginner ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amylou View Post
Hi everyone!