vinegar vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-15-2015, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
vinegar vegan?

hi.

i emailed heinz about their distilled vinegar and apple cider vinegar. here is the reply:

"May 14, 2015
Dear Ben,

Thank you for visiting our website.

The Heinz Vinegar is not considered vegan.

Thanks again for contacting us. We appreciate your interest.
"

i eat a lot of salsa, hot sauce, pickled vegetables, etc. that are made with vinegar.

does any 1 know about vinegar production?

is it filtered with isinglass or gelatin?
bjw414 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-15-2015, 03:19 PM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,954
Oh-kay, that's news to me!
Heinz white vinegar in gallon containers are cheaper than store brands where I buy it. I never questioned it.
I know Braggs apple cider vinegar is vegan.
I also like balsamic so I hope that is vegan.

I found this:
"
When researching whether or not isinglass is used in filtering, it seems to me that while that is a method that can be used, it is not very popular. I took the liberty of contacting Heinz, a major manufacturer of many vinegars to see if they used isinglass. They did not:
June 28, 2011
Dear Melissa,
Thank you for visiting our web site.
Heinz vinegar is not filtered through isinglass. It is considered suitable for vegetarians.
Thanks again for contacting us. We appreciate your interest.
Heinz Consumer Resource Center
[email protected]We certainly can’t speak for every vinegar manufacturer out there, but I feel confident with vinegar’s vegan status."

From this site:
http://www.isitvegan.com/2011/06/30/...-really-vegan/
silva is offline  
#3 Old 05-15-2015, 03:48 PM
Veggie Regular
 
dormouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,609
That's strange that they wouldn't say why it's not vegan.
dormouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 05-15-2015, 06:41 PM
Oryzatarian
 
Auxin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USDA z7a
Posts: 1,359
Most likely its bone char.
Distilled vinegar would contain by-products that could introduce an off-smell (like fusel alcohols do in cheap vodka) and would vary based on the materials used to make the vinegar. Sloppy distillation might, at times, cause color variation. Big name companies dont like variation in their product and they tend to remove off-smells or off-colors whenever economical. Charcoal filtering would accomplish all of this.
When buying apple cider vinegar check the ingredients. Some brands are now fake and made with distilled vinegar.
Auxin is offline  
#5 Old 05-15-2015, 06:46 PM
Super Moderator
 
Werewolf Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 16,664
Oh wow I'd never even considered vinegar not being vegan, that's good to know thanks!

"If we could live happy and healthy lives without harming others... why wouldn't we?" - Edgars Mission
Werewolf Girl is offline  
#6 Old 05-16-2015, 08:19 AM
Vegan since 1991
 
David3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3,657
I wouldn't worry too much about this. Our vegan diet serves to minimize violence towards animals - it doesn't eliminate this violence completely.


Even organically-grown foods are sprayed with pesticides (chemicals which kill insects). The USDA Organic standard allows the use of naturally-derived pesticides: http://www.epa.gov/agriculture/torg.html .


Eating meat magnifies this pesticide-induced violence, because the vast majority of livestock animals are fed soy/corn feed, at least during a portion of their (short) life. Only 9% of the world's beef cattle are exclusively grass-fed, according to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization: http://www.fao.org/docrep/X5303E/x53...%20environment

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
David3 is online now  
#7 Old 05-16-2015, 10:30 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SE USA
Posts: 290
i agree with David3. i tend not to worry about the traces. i always thought of vinegar as safe, apparently i was wrong. nonetheless i had lemon juice on my salad today.
cuberail is offline  
#8 Old 05-18-2015, 12:27 AM
adapt. evolve. become
 
Pirate Huntress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,374
wow, the things you'd assume that would be vegan friendly end up not being vegan friendly. :/
Pirate Huntress is offline  
Reply

Tags
vinegar

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off