• 1 Post By faded_amaranth
  • 1 Post By Windigo
  • 1 Post By LedBoots

#1 Old 02-26-2015, 12:24 PM
Herbivorous Urchin

Vegan on the Cheap

Elephant Journal posted a great article about being vegan on the cheap:

Quote:
One of the wackiest misconceptions about veganism is that it’s expensive.

Maybe it is if you insist on buying organic, fair-trade, artisan prepackaged meals, but that’s not necessary. It’s not even all that good for you.

Legumes, whole grains and inexpensive fresh produce kept me going strong when I was a dirt-poor undergrad who lived alone. I made pastas, stews, Indian fare, gumbos and jambalayas for dinner, had oatmeal and an apple for breakfast and ate leftovers for lunch.
http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/...emma-hudelson/
Purp, LedBoots, David3 and 1 others like this.

Quote:
"You will always be fond of me. I represent to you all the sins you never had the courage to commit.”
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-26-2015, 12:37 PM
Lovable misanthrope

Her 15 dollar a week list would last me 2-3 days, so I don't know how one could live a week off of that... Saying that I'm trying hard to just concentrate on fresh things like lots of veg and fruit and pulses. Vegan specific items like vegan milk and cheese are far from cheap though.

it takes guts to be gentle and kind
#3 Old 02-26-2015, 08:50 PM
Beginner

I don't think I could get that for $15, and I don't think it would be enough variety for a full week for me.
MozIsMyShepherd likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 02-26-2015, 09:33 PM
Oryzatarian

Quote:
Originally Posted by MozIsMyShepherd View Post
Her 15 dollar a week list would last me 2-3 days
lol, I did the math and her list would supply 900 Calories per day for a week. So yeah, that would last me 2.5 days.