Confused about lanolin and honey? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By Kath
  • 1 Post By LedBoots
  • 1 Post By Crochetlove

#1 Old 05-16-2014, 05:18 AM

Confused about lanolin and honey?

I've been a vegan for about a week but I was vegetarian for about a year before that so I'm fairly new to veganism. Im hoping some can shine a light on the usage of lanolin and honey and why vegans avoid them. To my knowledge lanolin is harvested from the sheep by sheering the wool off, not by killing or harming it so why are vegans supposed to that?? I also don't know the process of harvesting honey so can some one please shed some light on that too, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-16-2014, 06:28 AM

Hi Timmy,

Welcome to VB

To a lot of people, veganism is not just about obvious forms of animal cruelty, it's about exploitation as well. That means many people who self-identify as 'vegan' (myself included) do not wish to support using animals for any products.

I know from reading recent posts that there are several VBers with much more knowledge of the honey process than I have, so I would rather wait and let them see your post so they can give you more accurate information on that.

Some people prefer to follow a plant based diet but still use the word vegan. There are frequent debates here about that.

Either way, I'm happy you're eating vegan and hope you enjoy the change. Please don't worry too much right now, there is a lot to take in! There is lots of support and recipe information to be found here.
#3 Old 05-16-2014, 11:19 AM
Not such a Beginner ;)

Lanolin is from sheep, honey from bees. Vegans try to avoid using animal products as much as is practical and possible. There are easy substitutions for these and other products. See the Honey Thread for a very long-winded discussion on this topic...
Werewolf Girl likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 05-16-2014, 11:36 AM
Veggie Regular