Changing the name - vegan- - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-16-2013, 02:56 PM
 
ThetamalHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1

We have a business in texas... the tamal house. 

Apparently meat eaters folks, don't attempt to give our vegan and vegetarian tamales

a try. We think is because we say they are vegan and vegetarian! 

funny right?  Do you have any ideas what other name can we use, so they feel invited to taste 

our vegan tamales and then, love them, and buy them instead of regular ones?

 

 

 

[Mod edit to remove link]

ThetamalHouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-16-2013, 03:03 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Rinchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Both here and not here
Posts: 677
Lighter fare?
Rinchen is offline  
#3 Old 10-16-2013, 05:01 PM
Veggie Regular
 
natty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 351
You could call one cheese and one tofu- or vegetable or whatever it is that you use to fill them. People will likely be more open to buying them. However, make certain that you mark at least the vegan ones in some way like with a leaf or a V and then have somewhere on the menu that says what that mark is for so that you don't lose your vegan customers. When I'm out with my friends or family and I don't know if something is vegan I just don't get it because I don't want to draw attention to myself and I figure that employees might not know and have to go look it up and cause a fuss.
Good luck!
'IckenNoodleSoup likes this.
natty6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 10-16-2013, 05:05 PM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,955

Maybe nutrition listing would help. 
Point out zero cholestorol, lower calories, heart health.

 

Are they priced lower? If they basically contain the same filling without the meat and cheese they should be. 
I've always been with people who would choose based on price!

As a vegan I'm quite offended to pay the same when I'm getting a product that costs less.


Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good
silva is offline  
#5 Old 10-16-2013, 10:22 PM
Give peas a chance
 
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,715

You could do separate menus. I've seen that before and like it.

 

You would have your standard menu that lists everything you offer. Don't specify which items are veg, but somewhere on the menu state that people can also ask for your vegetarian/vegan menu. Omnis ordering off the standard menu may end up trying veg tamales and liking them, without the stigma that comes from eating food labeled as veg. And you made the dining experience easier for veg*ns by providing a customized menu.


Vegan Cookbooks Illustrated

http://vegan-cookbooks-illustrated.blogspot.com/

http://pinterest.com/VeganCookbooks/

Mojo is offline  
#6 Old 10-16-2013, 11:51 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tiger Lilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,617

I agree with Natty, on the mentioning of the V next to the name of the product. Ours usually look like this- (v). It just helps when you're a vego, to know what you're getting.

Though, everyone's suggestions are awesome. I just really like being able to look for a little vego symbol to check what I can and can't eat. If it wasn't there, I'd miss out on some pretty great stuff!


Do you just name your products by their ingredients? You might want to look at giving them all special titles. Grill'd here in Australia have vego burgers (all vegetarian but can be made vegan, they're awesome) call their burgers different names.


So, they have burgers called "The Field Of Dreams", "Bombay Bliss" (I have such love for it, best chickpea patty in ALL THE WORLDS!) and "Garden Goodness".


Maybe try something like that?

Tiger Lilly is offline  
#7 Old 10-17-2013, 08:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,587
Yummy, luv vegan tamales.

Instead of "vegan" call them what they are. I make tamales with spinach/mushroom/chipotle filling and sell them as "Spinach Mushroom Tamales".

Also gotta make sure bc I have come across this too often, are your tamales truly vegan? No lard/manteca, no chicken or beef broth, and no dairy?
luvourmother is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off