Oh the omnis we turn. - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-15-2013, 01:41 PM
Herbivorous Urchin

I learned today an old professor of mine went vegan off of a paper I wrote on the potential for personhood in dogs.

Has anyone else had a surprising omni that turned vegan?
LovingGrl72 likes this.

Quote:
"You will always be fond of me. I represent to you all the sins you never had the courage to commit.”
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-15-2013, 04:15 PM

My husband! But, surprisingly, it wasn’t me who finally turned him over. I’ve been cooking vegan food for more than 7 months at home, but I knew he ate animals outside the house.

Yesterday, he went to Subway with the kids, who both ordered a vegan meal with avocado. My daughter even asked for a bread that wasn’t made with milk and egg (I don’t know what bread she got served, but you’ve got to admire my 3rd grader). But my husband went with what he’s used to, out of habit, and ordered some Teryaki chicken with cheese. When he sat down with the kids, my daughter lectured him on how there were so many options on the menu, and why on Earth did he chose to eat some dead animal?

Ensued a defensive posture in which my hisband, quite ruffled, real omnivore-like eventually said: “Who do you love most, animals or humans?”
She replied: “Well, I don’t eat humans either!”

Later he told me how he just couldn’t make a come back, no matter what he said she slammed him to the wall with such logic he was completely baffled. And mute. I asked him: “Now that you’ve had time to cool down, do you actually have any arguments for eating what you did?” And he said: “No.”