Olives and sugar - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-04-2013, 04:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
sam alshebany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,283

Guys i really wanna buy some olive the ones i found have lactic acid and ferrous gluconate bt  look here 

 

http://www.waitrose.com/shop/ProductView-10317-10001-16939-Waitrose+sliced+black+olives%2Fbrine

 

 

http://www.waitrose.com/shop/ProductView-10317-10001-17309-Waitrose%2C+pitted+green+olives+in+brine

 

 

They say vegan on the website does that really make them vegan or they could be lying?

 

and i found in some potatoes that i wanna buy that it contains pepper extract is pepper extract vegan?

sam alshebany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-05-2013, 01:47 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lentil City, UK
Posts: 2,533

Hi Sam

 

If Waitrose say the olives are vegan, then they are indeed vegan.  Waitrose is a very big, well respected supermarket in the UK and they wouldn't mislabel items :)

 

Lactic acid is fine btw, things are less clear regarding ferrous gluconate as it can be derived from honey as well as plants.  

 

 

If it’s lactate or lactic acid, it’s not from dairy (exception – sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). “Lac” ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always from dairy.

So, you can eat lactic acid guilt free. Unless it comes from someone’s muscles. Which is gross on so many levels.

 

 

With regards to the pepper extract, I would say it's highly likely that it is vegan - the pepper itself is obviously vegan but they may add other ingredients.  

60225 is offline  
#3 Old 07-05-2013, 05:35 AM
Veggie Regular
 
sam alshebany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiet-Vegan View Post

Hi Sam

 

If Waitrose say the olives are vegan, then they are indeed vegan.  Waitrose is a very big, well respected supermarket in the UK and they wouldn't mislabel items :)

 

Lactic acid is fine btw, things are less clear regarding ferrous gluconate as it can be derived from honey as well as plants.  

 

 

If it’s lactate or lactic acid, it’s not from dairy (exception – sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). “Lac” ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always from dairy.

So, you can eat lactic acid guilt free. Unless it comes from someone’s muscles. Which is gross on so many levels.

 

 

With regards to the pepper extract, I would say it's highly likely that it is vegan - the pepper itself is obviously vegan but they may add other ingredients.  

Thank you and many of wait rose products contain sugar is the sugar in their products vegan?

sam alshebany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 07-05-2013, 06:19 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam alshebany View Post

Thank you and many of wait rose products contain sugar is the sugar in their products vegan?

 

I think the sugar in British products would be suitable for vegans. 

leedsveg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off