How do they figure that kale and broccoli are 45% protein and spinach is 49% protein? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-28-2012, 08:21 AM

Hi! my name is Felicia. I have been vegan for about 3 years now and love it. I am a new member, and this is my first time posting. It will be good to meet some new people.

I have seen various graphs compared with meat proclaiming that they are that amount. These claims seem so unrealistic, unbelievable and misleading. If you go to a nutrition data website the numbers are much lower percentage wise. When I looked up beef the numbers were more closely resemble the ones on the chart.

Just one example...  http://www.project.nsearch.com/profiles/blogs/10-sources-of-veggie-protein

A 100 gram serving of broccoli yields 3 grams of protein - http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2816/2  and a 100 gram serving of kale with the same http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2461/2 

I am vegan, and am all for supporting and promoting veganism, but at least post accurate information, right? Furthermore I really think that protein that they say we need in our diets is over rated.

Anyway, moving on, although it has been a while since I took a math class, I don't believe I am that rusty. Those calculations do seem to me to be a far cry from 45% protein. I'm just wondering how people ever came up with these numbers? I find this quite misleading. I have an appointment today with my daughter's school about her lunch and her diet, and was going to bring vegan print outs for vegan sources of protein and I'm just glad I caught this before I went in looking like an idiot. Anyone have any comments on this?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-28-2012, 05:29 PM
Veggie Regular

That chart is wrong.  Check out nutritiondata.com for correct info.

#3 Old 09-28-2012, 05:36 PM
Give peas a chance