Vegan Ice Cream - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-30-2011, 08:23 AM
Beginner

Last night my husband and I made vegan ice cream out of Silk vanilla soy creamer and half a box of red velvet cake mix (Duncan Hines brand-vegan unless I missed something. I was shocked!). Originally we were just going to make plain vanilla ice cream, but the recipe we were using called for arrowroot powder, which we couldn't find at our local supermarket. Thinking that it wouldn't matter as long as we used something as a thickening agent, I started looking through the boxed cake mixes to see if any we vegan.

I just blended together three cups of the soy creamer, two tablespoons of vanilla extract and half of the cake mix, and we put it in our ice cream maker for a half hour. After the half hour was up, the ice cream batter was still completely melted, but we thought it would be better to just throw it in the freeze to see what happened instead of throwing it away. Sure enough, we woke up this morning, and the batter had the consistency of soft serve ice cream! And it was DELICIOUS! Considering that the ice cream maker didn't really do anything at all, I'm thinking one could make the batter and just put it in the freezer overnight.

Just wanted to share

"You know I'm a radical."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-30-2011, 09:07 AM
Veggie Regular

Sounds yummy. I don't know if that cake mix is vegan or not but I do know there are vegan cake mixes around.

Have you checked out ay vegan ice cream "cook"books? There's one called The Vegan Scoop, another called Vice Cream, and one titled Lick It.
#3 Old 04-30-2011, 09:37 AM

That sounds very yummy!

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 04-30-2011, 01:26 PM

Red velvet vegan ice cream? Sounds too good to be true... I want it so bad!