Is wine typically vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 09-05-2010, 03:43 PM
Beginner
 
DooWahDiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
So I ask this because, as someone who doesn't drink "alcoholic drinks," I am interested in a brand of non-alcoholic wines that is supposedly really good. They say they make the wine as usual and then use a "cold filtration process" to weed out most of the alcohol. Just curious. I'm under the drinking age but that doesnt stop most of my friends from drinking anyway. lol So thats not why I don't drink. I don't want to drink alcoholic drinks thats all. I do like mock-tails and fake drinks with good flavor and i just thought hey id like some wine, wonder if they make mock-wine. And they do. ^__^

**"Isn't it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?"**
DooWahDiddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 09-05-2010, 03:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Snowcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Your Mother's basement.
Posts: 2,587
I know some wines are vegan, but I was under the impression that wine makers usually use animal products, such as isinglass or gelatin, in the production process(it doesn't end up in the final product, but it is used, similar to sugar). Either way, you might wanna hold off until you contact the company or something..

"A-yup. Ya wasted yer life, son"

- Old Man
Snowcone is offline  
#3 Old 09-05-2010, 04:09 PM
Veggie Regular
 
andrealeeanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 367
All I had known non-veg*n in alcohol was isinglass, so thanks for the gelatin heads up snowcone! Here's a pretty large list of alcoholic beverages (including wine) and their suitability for a veg*n diet.
andrealeeanne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 09-05-2010, 04:12 PM
Beginner
 
DooWahDiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowcone View Post

I know some wines are vegan, but I was under the impression that wine makers usually use animal products, such as isinglass or gelatin, in the production process(it doesn't end up in the final product, but it is used, similar to sugar). Either way, you might wanna hold off until you contact the company or something..

god damn it. that sucks.

**"Isn't it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?"**
DooWahDiddy is offline  
#5 Old 09-05-2010, 04:23 PM
Veggie Regular
 
nataliex1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 812
barnivore.com is a great resource for veg*an alcohol.
nataliex1122 is offline  
#6 Old 09-06-2010, 02:39 AM
Veggie Regular
 
AeryFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,293
Why not just get a nice grape juice? :P


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AeryFairy is offline  
#7 Old 09-06-2010, 02:41 AM
Veggie Regular
 
.Goth-Alice.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A better Forum
Posts: 1,619
Arent most Red wines (and possibly some other drinks) filtered using fish parts? Or is that a myth?
.Goth-Alice. is offline  
#8 Old 09-06-2010, 02:44 AM
Veggie Regular
 
AeryFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by .Goth-Alice. View Post

Arent most Red wines (and possibly some other drinks) filtered using fish parts? Or is that a myth?

No, that's true. Isinglass. Can also be found in beer.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AeryFairy is offline  
#9 Old 09-06-2010, 02:47 AM
Veggie Regular
 
.Goth-Alice.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: A better Forum
Posts: 1,619
YAK! Ill stick to tea thankyou very much lol
.Goth-Alice. is offline  
#10 Old 09-06-2010, 06:15 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Katoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 355
Well, I can definitely recommend Badger Mountain. I love the Merlot, the Cabernet, and the Chardonnay. They are excellent table wines.

Company comment:
"Since 2001, Badger Mountain has been fining and filtering their wines with non-animal based methods so they're both organic and vegan."
Katoo is offline  
#11 Old 09-06-2010, 07:55 AM
Beginner
 
newask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 172
The iphone has 2 cool apps: Is my wine vegan and Is my beer vegan that contain pretty large lists. I mean, everything isn't on it, but a ton are!
newask is offline  
#12 Old 09-06-2010, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
JABB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by nataliex1122 View Post

barnivore.com is a great resource for veg*an alcohol.

Ding! You win!

Animal abolition = libertarianism evolved
JABB is offline  
#13 Old 09-06-2010, 10:52 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeryFairy View Post

Why not just get a nice grape juice? :P

haha yeah or some Shloer. I dont like wine, so I cant imagine drinking a non-alcoholic version. However, as far as I'm aware the majority of wine is not vegan so I'd avoid it until I knew definately otherwise.
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#14 Old 09-07-2010, 07:55 AM
Beginner
 
DooWahDiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by nataliex1122 View Post

barnivore.com is a great resource for veg*an alcohol.

yeah thats cool...ill just have to search that much harder for non alcoholic wine. lol but thanks for the link i see a lot of vegan options on there. maybe i can recommend it to any vegan drinkers i meet.

**"Isn't it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?"**
DooWahDiddy is offline  
#15 Old 09-07-2010, 01:03 PM
Veggie Regular
 
ElaineV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by nataliex1122 View Post

barnivore.com is a great resource for veg*an alcohol.

Yes, this.

Also, I enjoy wine and beer, but I think it's really smart of you to wait till you're older. Not just for legal reasons but also because the human brain is still developing even up to age 25 and you can damage that brain growth if you use alcohol or drugs.
ElaineV is offline  
#16 Old 09-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
malailuzija's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
whaaaaattt???? people use fish parts while making beer?

Never trust the storyteller. Only trust the story.
malailuzija is offline  
#17 Old 09-07-2010, 03:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Snowcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Your Mother's basement.
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by malailuzija View Post

whaaaaattt???? people use fish parts while making beer?

The bladder, specifically.

"A-yup. Ya wasted yer life, son"

- Old Man
Snowcone is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off