Vegan Ice Cream Recipe Needed - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-18-2010, 07:59 AM

hi- i have an ice cream maker- my son is lactose and gluten intolerant and i want to give him some ice cream- i bought some soya cream today- tiny little carton for 80p. which is way too expensive. i give him rice milk but this is too thin to make desserts from- ive noticed soya milk in general is very sweet and seems to lend itself perfectly for deserts- as you can tell i am new to vegan foods-we afre vegetarian- but vegan foods come into play when i have to cook lactose free (its all very complicated and to do with intestinal problems- genuine intolerances)ive always heard soya was hard to dgest so i never included it in our dioet- but now im thinking lactose has got to worse- well i know for a fact it is and my son needs to be free without it- it does him no good at all- honestly seriously- its no joke. i think it stems from drinking too much cows milk when he was younger-it over loaded his system- there isnt much info out there on this for young mums- its all cows milk is best kind of thing- i wish i had known more about it. once your gut flora is gone- its gone- you cantget it back in a hurry. the main thing now is to give my son foods that wont send him off to the loo 5-6 times in a night- as this is soul destroying for us both- so i digress- basically im saying that my wish to give him lactose free diet is a committed and serious one- all reasons are serious- ethical ones are serious but health issues is no joke is it. so im new to it all- would like to know how tio make things from scratch as opposed to being sucked in to buying ready made desserts id like to know how to make soya cream myself soya yopghurt soya cheese etc- its really important because i think its better home made- youahvent got additives and its half the price and i know whats in it.

so any info on this would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-18-2010, 09:42 AM