Work Experience for a Vegan Vet Student - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-06-2010, 03:48 AM

Hello everyone!

I'm hoping some of you may have suggestions for me:

In summary: need to do some work experience at a 'commercial animal enterprise', and would like it to be vegan-friendly, rather than 'farm work'

I'm studying Vet Science, and have to do 6 weeks work experience in 'commercial animal enterprises' (having already had experience in a different category that covered shelters and zoos). For most people this means sheep or cattle farms, piggeries, etc. and I'm actually finding it a bit difficult to come up with vegan ideas.

The work should be hands-on (which counts out 'eco-tourism' type enterprises), although doesn't have to be of a veterinary nature: the aim of the exercise is really just to familiarise myself with some animal industries, and get some practical handling in. Only idea I've had so far is with a horse group, doing trail rides or something (I would like to avoid the racing industry, I've seen the consequences of that too many times already).

So if you have any ideas, general or specific, I'd love to hear them. I'm in Australia (Melbourne), but happy to travel. Happy to work with any animals, although you get bonus marks for wildlife and marine animals! Also, as I'm a poor student, accomodation and food are important too, if you know of places that may offer upkeep for otherwise free labour.

Please let me hear what you've got, and thanks in advance!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-07-2010, 08:31 AM
Veggie Regular

Pet boarding kennel, dog daycare, training school for guide dogs, horse boarding stable?

slops, gloops, and gruels.
#3 Old 04-07-2010, 09:38 AM
Veggie Regular