traveling to Japan - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-30-2010, 03:11 PM

I'm a college student, and I have an amazing opportunity to go to Japan for two weeks next spring! I'm really excited about experiencing the culture, learning about the history, and all that.... But I'm even more excited about the food.

In America, I can go to all kinds of Japanese restaurants and find vegan/vegetarian dishes. However, I'm worried that I won't be able to maintain my diet while I'm overseas, considering the language barrier and reading menus or even if they'll have those options available. =S

I'm wondering if it is a real problem I might encounter (for those with first-hand experience?), or if I should just be a bit more lax while I'm traveling and try new things (even if they aren't entirely vegan/vegetarian).

Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-30-2010, 03:17 PM
Veggie Regular

My thought is that of jealousy over your amazing opportunity to go to Japan.

Vegetarian since February 12, 2007
Vegan since October 7, 2008

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#3 Old 03-30-2010, 03:22 PM

I know!! At my college, we have this program that sends juniors and seniors to countries of their choice (they offer certain ones every year) with a couple of their professors. It's funded by big grants and endowments, so each student only has to pay about $600 to go.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-30-2010, 04:02 PM
Veggie Regular