Help me understand a few things... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-28-2010, 11:23 AM
Veggie Regular

I'm still learning so please be kind.

I was reading somewhere that if you eat a vegan diet but only for health reasons (not for animal rights reasons) then you aren't really vegan, just a "strict vegetarian". Now I understand that veganism extends to other aspects of life, like not wearing leather and using cruelty-free products in your home. But it IS possible to be vegan without necessarily being concerned with animal rights right? I mean, if you eat an entirely vegan diet and simply prefer clothing from non-animal sources, and use all-natural products for hygiene and cleaning (baking soda, vinegar, coconut oil, ect for example) you aren't vegan because you don't actively protest animal cruelty?

I guess the comment caught me off-guard because I DID initially get into this for health reasons. I went meat-free, then dairy-free. Both primarily for health reasons. I've learned a lot about factory farming so now I find eggs very unappetizing. I'm finding myself more concerned about animals, but maybe not at the same level as some people are. I do pay attention to some of the products I use and if I see product that is similar but without animal by-products I grab that instead.

I don't call myself vegan. Heck, I'm just now getting to the point where I feel confident saying "vegetarian" even after 4 months. LOL But if I do become vegan by definition, is it somehow wrong to call myself that because of my reasons? I don't like getting caught up in labels but I know it's important to be accurate so as not to confuse people who may not understand the differences.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-28-2010, 11:35 AM
Veggie Regular

You could be vegan because of environmental concerns.
#3 Old 02-28-2010, 11:48 AM
Veggie Regular