Mock Meats? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-14-2010, 03:34 PM
Veggie Regular

Hey vegans! So I've been asking around to some people, but I figured I'd just post a thread here and ask you all officially.

So after I found out that so many mock meats have eggs in them (egg whites etc).. I've been wondering how vegans eat mock meat. I learned with some help from a fellow vegetarian here on VB that many vegans make their own mock meats or don't eat much of it.

I've been veg for about a month but in a week or so I'm gonna try to become a strict vegetarian (no eggs, milk or cheese, as I'm sure you all know), but until then I'm trying to gather some info and "practice" cutting out dairy products. I'm not really sure if being a strict veg is gonna work for me, mostly cuz I'm a college student and everything at the cafeteria is..blegh, there's just too much meat and not enough veggie options, and no doubt everything has dairy in it. I'm gonna try not to let that stop me, I bought a vegan college cookbook with really simple recipes that only need a microwave or that can be made without a microwave, so I'm gonna try to work off of that (if I have enough room in my mini fridge..)

Anyway, so I've been test tasting a lot of mock meats and I like so many of them! Some of them I like, some I don't...but I think its so cool that you can eat yummy food that an animal didnt have to die for. I know a lot of veg*ns hate mock meat or don't believe in them (and I respect that) but I like a lot of them so I don't want to cut them out, is it ok for veggies to like mock meat?...

I was just wondering what vegans eat as far as mock meats/if you eat them and if there is such a thing as healthy mock meat... I know it's all processed and I need to eat healthy as a veg*n so I can continue to lose weight (I've already lost 74 lbs!)

Thanks for anything you can offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-14-2010, 03:55 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote: