Fly tying - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-30-2009, 10:39 PM
Veggie Regular

I have been working on learning how to tie flies for many years. Just this summer I decided that a vegan lifestyle is what I desire and am now conflicted. While I love fly fishing I just don't know the point in doing it anymore. The same goes for fly tying. The majority of all materials are from animals and that does not fit in adopting a totally vegan approach to life.

I was thinking of just taking off the barbs on my hooks to aid in catch and release(Which is pretty much the way I have always fished). I find fishing very peaceful. It's all about being in nature for me and just hanging out in a cold stream.

If I continue tying flies and fishing catch and release would I be a hypocrite calling myself vegan. I won't be eating the fish though. If that does make me a hypocrite I have some other ideas for enjoying the cold streams. For example I can join trout unlimited and do work to maintain my local streams so they will be a source of life for many generations.

Also my idea of why someone becomes vegan is in protest of the horrible industrial farms where animals are treated like meat. Does catch and release fishing still support those horrible places? I really would like to hear what some other people think.

"He that breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-30-2009, 10:50 PM
Veggie Regular