I feel like I don't stop eating but I'm still hungry :/ - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-18-2009, 07:47 AM
Beginner

I'm really really new to being a vegan and I'm a little chubby so eating all the time is making me very nervous. I feel like I haven't stopped eating today yet I'm still hungry. It is 10 AM and I've already had a bowl of kix with almond milk (maybe 2 cups of cereal) around 5 AM, a 16 oz cup of coffee with almond milk around 7:30 AM, aprox 2/3 a cup of walnuts around 9 AM and a banana at 9:30 yet I'm still hungry. I'm just really really scared I'm going to gain weight if I keep eating but I'm not sure what to do. Are there any really filling low calorie vegan snacks that I should start trying to eat? or am I eating a lot less then I think I am?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-18-2009, 08:03 AM
Beginner

You're eating a lot of "fast carbs" - carbs that give you energy quickly, then just stop. You're also not getting a lot of fiber, which helps you feel full. I'd recommend including some whole grains in the morning, to keep you going.
#3 Old 08-18-2009, 08:08 AM
Beginner

Thanks for the advice! I'll try that tomorrow morning and see if it helps
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-18-2009, 08:18 AM
Veggie Regular

Yeah, try oatmeal. There's a great thread somewhere on here about How to Make Oatmeal Taste Good.

What kind of cereal were you having? Cereals with whole grains, fiber, and protein will keep you fuller longer, however some can get high on the calorie content, so you have to watch your portion sizes.

I really don't think you ate that much though. The only thing that probably was higher in calories/fat was the 2/3 cup of walnuts.