Finding it really hard to maintain my veggie diet - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-17-2009, 04:17 PM

Hey folks, glad to have found this site. I am a newbie here (on the site as well as to vegetarianism). I have been a vegetarian for 4 months now...and I am finding it really hard to maintain a meat-free diet. My main problem is that I am constantly on the move due to my job and end up eating junk food at airports..the only veg options I have found to work are Subway and Burger King (veggie burger) but lately I am finding it to be increasingly difficult to maintain a veg. diet (i'm not a vegan BTW..I eat eggs and drink milk etc). There aren't many places here (I'm in Australia) where one can get a vegetarian meal..its just meat everywhere. So, many times I have considered getting back to eating meat..but then I restrain myself and grab a salad or a veggie sub.

So..how did you guys manage to contain your meat-cravings (especially people who became vegetarians who used to eat meat)?

Sorry if a similar topic has been posted here..just wanted to get some advice and say hi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-17-2009, 04:23 PM
Veggie Regular

Where abouts in Australia do you live? I go there very often, and have spent much time travelling all around that country, and I have no great difficulties in finding food. I do not eat Burger King type food, either.

Please don't go back to eating meat. You just need tips, help and support, I hope you can find that here.
#3 Old 06-17-2009, 04:34 PM
Beginner

I've never been to Australia, but I agree that it can be quite difficult to find quick meals that are veggie when traveling. However, I've never had a problem when I'm able to go in and sit down for a meal. I imagine you might find the same thing is true where you live. Perhaps taking a bit more time for meals might help you to find better options.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-17-2009, 04:35 PM
Veggie Regular