I'm new to vegetarianism and i have a few questions : ) - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-14-2009, 02:44 PM

ok so let's see:

are there vegetarians that eat eggs? And if you do what are your reasons?

What are you favorite foods/recipes?

Ok i guess that's it for now thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-14-2009, 02:49 PM
Veggie Regular

Hi and welcome.

Some vegetarians eat eggs and some eat eggs and dairy.

Some don't eat either. I don't because the egg and dairy industries are cruel and mistreat and kill the animals and their young.

In terms of food - have a scout round the recipe forums and the what's for dinner thread to give you some ideas.
#3 Old 06-14-2009, 03:46 PM
Veggie Regular

Hi welcome to veggieboards. Many vegetarians eat both eggs and dairy, you will find lots of posts within this site discussing this subject ad infinitum. Congratulations on turning veggie.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-14-2009, 05:12 PM
Veggie Regular

I suppose I fall into the lacto-ovo category. I eat eggs, but try to avoid dairy (I prefer almond or soy milk/cheese and have a lactose intolerance) I bake a lot, so really the only time I use eggs is in baking. I always make sure to buy free range though.

As mentioned earlier, you will find tons of threads on the topic.
#5 Old 06-14-2009, 05:45 PM
Veggie Regular

I eat eggs because my eggs come from a family that lives two blocks from my house that owns twenty pet chickens.

That way I can visit the chickens, and know that they are well cared for and that the chickens are allowed fresh air, sunshine, and time every once in a while to wander their yard and eat grubs and grass and chickweed and do all the stuff that chickens in battery cages don't get to do.
#6 Old 06-14-2009, 07:21 PM
Herbivorous Urchin

I eat the eggs my five chickens give me, because I know I treat them like Queen chickies, I avoid dairy because I don't know where it came from, or how they're treated first hand.