What stuff is not ok to eat as a vegetarian? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 06-11-2009, 11:52 PM
Newbie
 
Music is Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 31
I know it sounds kinda stupid. I know you don't eat meat, fish, or fowl but i heard somone mention rennet and gellatin? why what are in those? What foods have rennet in them? thanks!
Music is Life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-11-2009, 11:57 PM
...
 
Blobbenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,936
do you mean 'rennet'? if so, that is an enzyme which is taken from dead calf's stomach.





gelatin is made from bones, pig's or cow's most often.

Blobbenstein is offline  
#3 Old 06-11-2009, 11:58 PM
Newbie
 
Music is Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 31
[QUOTE=Blobbenstein]do you mean 'rennet'? if so, that is an enzyme which is taken from dead calf's stomach.





gelatin is made from bones, pig's or cow's most often.[/Q



oh it is rennet i couldn't remeber thanks
Music is Life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 06-12-2009, 01:47 AM
Veggie Regular
 
clarita osita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,862
rennet is commonly found in cheese. as for other places, I don't know. rennet-free cheese is available, but you have to check the ingredients.



as for "what is not ok" for vegetarians, vegetarians do not consume any products that require the death of an animal - so meat (and chicken, sealife, etc), rennet, gelatin, carmine/cochineal (made from crushed red beetles, often used as a coloring in foods). those are what I can think of off the top of my head.



it's up to you to decide whether you believe in cutting those things out. if you don't, that's fine, that's your choice, but you wouldn't be vegetarian. if you choose to do those things, great! I prefer to think of "vegetarian" as a word to describe the beliefs you hold, not as a label to try to fit yourself into. I hope that makes sense.



Welcome to Veggie Boards!
clarita osita is offline  
#5 Old 06-12-2009, 01:49 AM
Beginner
 
Kotegaeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 138
most cheese is made with rennet. There are vegetarian cheeses but they'll normally be labelled as such, at least they are in the UK. Watch out for cheese in other foods, I had to give up my beloved Sacla rocket pesto because it's made with non-veg cheese
Kotegaeshi is offline  
#6 Old 06-12-2009, 10:34 AM
Veggie Regular
 
monsterbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 416
Just in addition to the rennet thing - some cheese flavoured crisps/chips specify if they are made with cheese containing rennet and/or have no 'V' or 'suitable for veggies' symbol. I'm thinking of the Walker's Sensations mature cheddar and onion that we have in the UK.



Its just something to keep in mind when buying snacks haha...
monsterbeans is offline  
#7 Old 06-12-2009, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by monsterbeans View Post

Just in addition to the rennet thing - some cheese flavoured crisps/chips specify if they are made with cheese containing rennet and/or have no 'V' or 'suitable for veggies' symbol. I'm thinking of the Walker's Sensations mature cheddar and onion that we have in the UK.



Its just something to keep in mind when buying snacks haha...



If the OP is in the US, we don't have the "V" thing here. nothing is labled "suitable for vegetarians" unless it's a veg company that wants to write it on there.
GhostUser is offline  
#8 Old 06-13-2009, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
angelbabie611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by animallover7249 View Post

If the OP is in the US, we don't have the "V" thing here. nothing is labled "suitable for vegetarians" unless it's a veg company that wants to write it on there.



Yeah I wish we had that, it would make life so much easier!
angelbabie611 is offline  
#9 Old 06-13-2009, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelbabie611 View Post

Yeah I wish we had that, it would make life so much easier!



Me too!!
GhostUser is offline  
#10 Old 06-13-2009, 07:41 PM
...
 
Blobbenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,936
unless it's from the veg or vegan society I don't really trust the 'V' things; not for things like rennet, but it does make me feel better all the same.

Blobbenstein is offline  
#11 Old 06-13-2009, 09:30 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Calhoun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 964
It may sound redundant to most, but chicken broth is off limits. I heard people say (not on this board, just under stupid things omivores say thread) that they didn't know chicken broth wasn't vegetarian. It isn't.

"I used to hate dogs 'til I saw one kill a kid." W.C. Fields
Calhoun07 is offline  
#12 Old 06-15-2009, 04:12 PM
Beginner
 
madhuram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 107
Music is Life, check the ingredients list in the yogurt you buy, because some brands contain gelatin.
madhuram is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off