Gelatin foods to avoid? - Page 2 - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#31 Old 10-29-2008, 07:04 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by dormouse View Post

Oh man. I used to love Junior Mints, I haven't eaten them in years. This is so sad for me to find out. (All of my movie theater candy, noooooo) I have however eaten a York peppermint pattie recently, but it had no ingredients listed.



What's not vegan about Jelly Bellies? Do they contain beeswax?



I'm pretty sure York Peppermint Patties are safe I always read labels and I ate one recently.



Yep, that darn beeswax!
danakscully64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#32 Old 10-29-2008, 07:57 PM
Beginner
 
tricia soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 169
In my early days of going veg*n, Michael and I were at a bowling alley, and their drink special was jello shots. I was stoked - seriously, how often does a bar offer jello shots? Unfortunately, Michael brought it to my attention that jello was not vegetarian. It crushed me...ok, not really, but I was slightly devastated.
tricia soup is offline  
#33 Old 10-29-2008, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Miharu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Anything squishy or gummy. Or marshmallowy.
Miharu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#34 Old 10-30-2008, 01:27 AM
Veggie Regular
 
WonderRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by tricia soup View Post

In my early days of going veg*n, Michael and I were at a bowling alley, and their drink special was jello shots. I was stoked - seriously, how often does a bar offer jello shots? Unfortunately, Michael brought it to my attention that jello was not vegetarian. It crushed me...ok, not really, but I was slightly devastated.



that's what I missed the most....

Nec Aspera Terrent
WonderRandy is offline  
#35 Old 10-30-2008, 07:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by tricia soup View Post

In my early days of going veg*n, Michael and I were at a bowling alley, and their drink special was jello shots. I was stoked - seriously, how often does a bar offer jello shots? Unfortunately, Michael brought it to my attention that jello was not vegetarian. It crushed me...ok, not really, but I was slightly devastated.



There are some recipes online for vegan jel shots... I've made them
danakscully64 is offline  
#36 Old 10-30-2008, 08:41 PM
Veggie Regular
 
SilverSweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 239
I was looking at the chocolate cake we had in the fridge, ready to dig into it, but as I've been having a bad run with accidentally eating non-veggie products, I checked the label.



Yep. It had gelatin!! (Evil, evil gelatin.)



It pains me to say it, but stay away from Peppridge Farms chocolate fudge 3-layer cake.



I'm so happy my dad made cookies (Hopefully those don't contain anything bad. They're just cookies, but that was what I thought about the cake!)

And that we have loads of junk food around.

(Not that it's really a good thing as I'm trying to lose weight, but on occasion it won't hurt...except I think I'm digging into it more then I should be. Must resist!) It's actually those little candies, but since thier little, that's the hook. You eat a lot of them. Grr. (I only eat about 4 at a time, but still...)



I might've eaten some gelatin because we got a white cake from the same company, but I checked the label on that one and didn't recall any gelatin, but sometimes I don't catch things when I read. It probably did, so next time I come across something "innocent looking", I'm double checking.
SilverSweet is offline  
#37 Old 11-01-2008, 11:47 AM
Veggie Regular
 
dormouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miharu View Post

Anything squishy or gummy. Or marshmallowy.



This is a good rule for things you should be sure to check on. But these things don't always contain gelatin. As I said earlier, Jelly Belly jelly beans don't contain gelatin, and neither do Sour Patch Kids.
dormouse is offline  
#38 Old 11-03-2008, 06:16 AM
Veggie Regular
 
animeidee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 286
Wow... Thanks for the info! I've been trying hard to avoid such foods mentioned. I'm becoming an avid label reader too. =D
animeidee is offline  
#39 Old 11-05-2008, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post

We bought some body wash that had gelatin once (it has "moisture beads"). So it's not just food you have to look out for!



true I recently found it in a few shampoos too...and Frankenberry Count Chocula (sp) Cereal.
GhostUser is offline  
#40 Old 11-05-2008, 10:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
OH NO, NOT COUNT CHOCULA! Sadness... Honestly, never had it, but that's still said to know
danakscully64 is offline  
#41 Old 11-06-2008, 10:11 AM
Veggie Regular
 
dormouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,609
Somebody said "anything frosted" but I checked Frosted Flakes last time I was in the store and they seem clean to me.
dormouse is offline  
#42 Old 11-06-2008, 10:14 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
Frosted Flakes are safe... and yummy
danakscully64 is offline  
#43 Old 11-06-2008, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
ajanew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
marshmallow creme is vegetarian, though not vegan (egg whites). I make rice crispy treats with this, which is also easier than using marshmallows.
ajanew is offline  
#44 Old 11-06-2008, 11:58 AM
Veggie Regular
 
animeidee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajanew View Post

marshmallow creme is vegetarian, though not vegan (egg whites). I make rice crispy treats with this, which is also easier than using marshmallows.



What a good idea~ I love krispy treats, and now i can have them! yay!
animeidee is offline  
#45 Old 11-06-2008, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
pyronymph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by dormouse View Post

This is a good rule for things you should be sure to check on. But these things don't always contain gelatin. As I said earlier, Jelly Belly jelly beans don't contain gelatin, and neither do Sour Patch Kids.



Which makes me so so so so so so happy! Swedish Fish also fall into the "gummy but safe" category. Yay!
pyronymph is offline  
#46 Old 11-08-2008, 04:48 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Ilurvebroccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 432
What about Fruit Loops??? Do those have geletan??
Ilurvebroccoli is offline  
#47 Old 11-08-2008, 04:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
PlaybackGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,085
Too bad Jelly Bellys aren't vegan....
PlaybackGuru is offline  
#48 Old 11-08-2008, 06:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilurvebroccoli View Post

What about Fruit Loops??? Do those have geletan??



No, they are safe
danakscully64 is offline  
#49 Old 11-09-2008, 06:20 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Ilurvebroccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 432
Thank goodness!!! I love fruit loops!! Haha.
Ilurvebroccoli is offline  
#50 Old 11-09-2008, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
ginaroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
And nail polish remover! Who knew?! I'm wondering if it's necessary to the removal process or is it a fortification thing ie; 'gelatin strengthens nails'? Cosmo's Vegan Shoppe sells a vegan remover for like $6,7,8 bucks...something like that. We've been tricked by yogurt, icing, hot cocoa mix (I think that was the crunchy little marshmallows though,I don't miss them), Frosted mini wheats (even generic). Sad. I have a nine year old who's all over it though.
ginaroth is offline  
#51 Old 11-09-2008, 09:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
danakscully64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34,591
^^^ You can find nail polish remover without gelatin at just about any store. I buy mine at Target.
danakscully64 is offline  
#52 Old 11-13-2008, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
sfveggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Anything "gummy" (gummy bears, marshmallow, gummy worms, etc) has probably been gelatized unless the label explicitly says it hasn't.
sfveggie is offline  
#53 Old 11-17-2008, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Q1217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
I've been looking at the ingredients of some foods that have been mentioned here, but I'm new to this, and I'm not sure if it would be listed as just "gelatin" or a variety of ingredients.



I hear Fluff's supposed to be safe because it doesn't need to retain its shape with gelatin.
Q1217 is offline  
#54 Old 11-18-2008, 12:37 AM
Newbie
 
ChellyDoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Be careful when you're eating fudge. I had some thiss weekend that was made with marshmellows. I was so grossed out when they told me that that I threw up. >.<
ChellyDoll is offline  
#55 Old 12-09-2008, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
spiral_ai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSweet View Post

I'm so happy my dad made cookies (Hopefully those don't contain anything bad. They're just cookies, but that was what I thought about the cake!)



Your dad makes cookies?!?!?!? OMG!!!! Ur dad is awesome! Not many guys will bake, fry maybe but bake no!!! 5 points for a awesome baking dad!
spiral_ai is offline  
#56 Old 12-11-2008, 10:21 AM
Beginner
 
Insomniana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 133
Thank God I live in Germany. This way I won't crave for most of the things mentioned here, because they don't exist here. :P



But it shocked me that orange juice isn't vegan! T_T Or roasted peanuts.

This shows me the importance of ALWAYS looking at labels.

And I thought I could trust some products and rely on my experiences.. *sighs*

It's so sad..
Insomniana is offline  
#57 Old 12-12-2008, 02:21 AM
Veggie Regular
 
SunVamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by melted View Post

Avoid anything chewy, and check everything else.



But Wrigley's gum doesn't have gelatin in it...
SunVamp is offline  
#58 Old 03-30-2015, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Some foods...

Most things that say light on the label. Also skittles dont have gelatine but they have bugs in them to make them shiny (Same with nerds, jellybeans and lots of other shiny things) But im not sure how "strict" veggie you are going to go, some veggies wouldnt eat them (me) some would. also some red dye has geletine in. drumstick lollies have gelatin too. anything chewy really. Haribos, mowams. Some sweets you can find special veggie ones. Ive been a veggie my whole life so im used to cheking labels and things. If your not sure then dont eat it i say Good luck!
Plantchomper is offline  
#59 Old 03-30-2015, 12:23 PM
Super Moderator
 
silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,953
We really need to identify our locations when getting specific about foods!
In America (at least) Skittles are now vegan. The shine is from carnuba wax, which is vegan.
It's shellac, or confectioners glaze that comes from beetles.

The red dye from beetles is cochineal, or carmine. Also called E120, and red 4.

Sour patch candies are vegan, as well as Swedish fish
Blow Pops are vegan
Betty Crocker fruit Gusher candies as well as (most? all?) of their other gummy pouch snacks
River likes this.
silva is offline  
#60 Old 03-30-2015, 09:22 PM
Don't Eat Animals.
 
Vegan Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabid_child View Post
Hey, some ORANGE JUICE has fish in it, and some whole wheat tortillas... and some baby food.
That's just plain wrong to do that.

All animals should be respected & should have the ability to lead a natural & enjoyable life. This means not eating them, or abusing them in any way.
Vegan Dave is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off