Foods that appear to be vegan but may not be or aren't! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-15-2008, 03:38 PM
Beginner
 
VeggieLizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Ok so I have been veggie-ing it up and am mixing a few days in vegan, or.so.i.thought.



Imagine my surprise when cooking up my garlic basmati rice mix last night and it said "contains milk ingrediants". WHERE? There is no milk on the dam* label! Does that mean bc they assume I am adding butter (I added vegan butter by the way) which the recipe calls for or is there .00000087 percent milk in there and if so why isn't in on the label? (SCAM #1)



SCAM #2: dark chocolate. WTF?! I am not eating hershey's here. I am trying to get it together with my twilight dark chocolate and nosh on a piece last night for dessert. It's not cheap, and its super dark and I checked the label: unsweetended chocolate, sugar, cocoa butter, vanilla and soy lecithin. Its vegan, right?

Well, I don't know. Nowhere on the label does it say vegan. And it also says "manufacturered on the same equipment that makes products containing peanuts, tree nuts, and milk". So is that info for allergies' sake or bc it ISN'T vegan? I googled the bar and some vegan girl had it on her website as vegan so hmmmm.....



Lest you think I am totally hopeless, I am not sitting around eating jell-o

O my tasty granola has honey. What a drag!
VeggieLizzie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-15-2008, 04:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
if it says 'contains milk ingredients', there is something made from milk in the packet somewhere... lactose, margarine, flavourings, etc. not vegan.



if it says 'manufactured on shared equipment/in a shared facility/etc' thats an allergy warning for people who might die if a speck of powdered milk dust fluttered down from the sky and landed on their chocolate bar. different things go down the same conveyor belt/are made in the same room as your vegan chocolate bar, but they do wash the machines between batches, and the likelyhood of any milk being on your chocolate is about the same as a particle of cows milk getting into your soyamilk if you keep it in a shared fridge. its fine.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#3 Old 10-15-2008, 06:05 PM
Beginner
 
VeggieLizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Thanks HCJ
VeggieLizzie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 10-15-2008, 06:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
no probs
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#5 Old 10-16-2008, 06:32 AM
Veggie Regular
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,282
You need to find yourself a Ritter Sport Marzipan bar. It is dark chocolate with marzipan filling, which sweetens up the dark chocolate. It's sooo crazy good. Check Target, they often have them. (Though most of the Ritter Sport Dark Chocolate bars contain milk. FEH!)

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#6 Old 10-16-2008, 07:00 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Tofu-N-Sprouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11,049
OK, I've seen this thread a million times, but this morning without my glasses, it looked like "FOOLS That Appear Vegan But May Not Be..." which actually sounded like a believable title .
Tofu-N-Sprouts is offline  
#7 Old 10-16-2008, 07:49 AM
Veggie Regular
 
broccolichick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tofu-N-Sprouts View Post

OK, I've seen this thread a million times, but this morning without my glasses, it looked like "FOOLS That Appear Vegan But May Not Be..." which actually sounded like a believable title .



broccolichick is offline  
#8 Old 10-16-2008, 10:14 AM
Beginner
 
VeggieLizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tofu-N-Sprouts View Post

OK, I've seen this thread a million times, but this morning without my glasses, it looked like "FOOLS That Appear Vegan But May Not Be..." which actually sounded like a believable title .



LOL! I will save that title for if I ever actually make it to total vegan-land. Pretty funny!
VeggieLizzie is offline  
#9 Old 10-16-2008, 10:15 AM
Beginner
 
VeggieLizzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Good tip, thanks RC! I can probably find it in my 'hood. We have random things from everywhere- candies I haven't even heard of bc they are all european so that's cool!
VeggieLizzie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off