Veggie BBQ - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-12-2008, 05:08 PM
Beginner

I am new to VeggieBoards (I introduced myself earlier so some of you may know me from there) and am aspiring to veggie-ism. I have been veganing it about 3x a week but need to work on upping protein/calories and have cut down on meat consumption drastically (truth be told I was never a massive meatosaurus)

Question: I am not a big hot dog eater and generally only consume them twice a year at my moms house for holiday bbqs (and the beef not the crappy kind). I am pretty well-schooled in the veggie hamburgers but are there good veggie hotdogs out there? Veggie burgers I normally eat incl. boca garlic and morningstar grillers. Altho Subway(the chain rest.) veggie burgers look good bc of their "colorful nature"- you can see the veggies in them. Of course if there are any other good veggie burgers out there I am open to them too ESP if there are soy alternatives as I try not to eat too much soy.

Normally at other holidays I think I would be ok bc of many side dishes but I loathe mayonnaise so pasta and 'tater salad are out so i would basically be eating veggie baked beans, chips and salad LOL!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-12-2008, 05:14 PM
Veggie Regular

I think the best I've found, though it's not actually a hot dog, is tofurkey kielbasa. They are soy, but they're tofu based, not the more processed soy-protein-isolate based.

This recipe for seitan sausages has gotten rave reviews. You could always change the seasonings to make it more like a hot dog and less like a spicy italian sausage. Other than a couple tbsp of soy sauce -- it's soy free!

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
#3 Old 10-12-2008, 05:55 PM
Beginner

added bonus of tofurkey kielbasa- no acid reflux (another reason I am not a big fan of greasy sausage!)

That sounds good, kielbasa is barbeque-y

That recipe looks good too!