Decision: Pescetarianism or Vegetarianism? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-08-2008, 06:47 PM

Hello all

I'm new to the concept of vegetarianism and this message board. I'm a former meat eater, I haven't eaten meat in 3 months now...but I'm split. I'm struggling to decide whether to be a straight up vegetarian or a Pescetarian. This is because I do not see anything unethical about eating seafood, to a large degree (unlike mammalian food products). Is there anything unethical or wrong with seafood? Point of views are welcome.

Thanks

-R1
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-08-2008, 06:50 PM
Veggie Regular

Flesh is flesh.

A lot of commercial fishing hurts all types of sea-dwelling animals, including sea-dwelling mammalians.
#3 Old 06-08-2008, 06:53 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 1 View Post

Hello all

I'm new to the concept of vegetarianism and this message board. I'm a former meat eater, I haven't eaten meat in 3 months now...but I'm split. I'm struggling to decide whether to be a straight up vegetarian or a Pescetarian. This is because I do not see anything unethical about eating seafood, to a large degree (unlike mammalian food products). Is there anything unethical or wrong with seafood? Point of views are welcome.

Thanks

-R1

What's the difference between fish and mammals? They all feel pain, they are all sentient to some point, they are all alive and don't deserve to be unnecessarily killed.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-08-2008, 07:57 PM
Beginner

You should research the environmental effects of the fishing industries.

Vegetarianism is the way to go.
#5 Old 06-08-2008, 09:03 PM
Veggie Regular

Depends, why are you making this diet change in the first place?
#6 Old 06-08-2008, 09:09 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:

Hello all

Is there anything unethical or wrong with seafood? Point of views are welcome.

Thanks

-R1

Yes. Needlessly slaughtering a living creature is unethical and wrong.