For an interested friend [friend had bad reaction to soy] - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-09-2008, 01:58 PM

Hello everyone! First off this is my first time posting so here it goes...

I have been a vegetarian since i was little. One of my friends is very interested in becoming a vegetarian as well. I told her of some products to buy at our wild oats. I am lactose intolerant and naturally told her to try soycrisps and soy cheese. I felt awful because she had a horrible reaction to the soy. She has not been able to find out if it is the soy or another ingredient. Anyways i was wondering if there is anyone out there that is allergic to soy and still is a successful vegetarian? THanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-09-2008, 03:52 PM
Veggie Regular

I am not allergic to soy, but you can be a succesful veg*n without soy, you just need to buy alot more fresh ingredients. It would also probobly be alot easier for her if she tried cooking meals from scratch, insead of buying prepackaged items. Veggies can be snacks also! And, is she wanting to be a vegetarian or a vegan? Because if vegetarian that should open up alot of options for her, being able to consume dairy instead of faux dairy which almost always contains soy ingredients. Just tell her to make sure and always read ingredients, and possibly go to the doctor and get tested for allergies, because it may be that she isn't even allergic to soy. Its important that she knows what gave her that reaction so she can prevent it again in the future. Good luck to your friend!
#3 Old 01-09-2008, 05:58 PM
Veggie Regular

It's very easy to be vegan and not eat soy. Simply substitute soy milk for other milks such as rice, almond or hemp. Beans and lentils provide a great source of protein, as do whole grains. If she avoids most fake foods such as meat analogues she should be fine.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 01-10-2008, 06:12 AM
Veggie Regular