Losing weight or gaining weight - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-26-2007, 05:51 PM

I have heard once you go veggie either one can happen. I am no nutrition expert by any means and I am pretty new to this lifestyle. I would like to lose weight if possible (not my reason for going veggie btw) what foods should I avoid so I dont gain weight? I havent bought any pre packaged foods or anything like that except the boca burgers. I eat cereals, seeds, breads, fruit, veggies, pastas and rice, pb things like that. Should I avoid alot of pastas? Please! Thanks! I just want to be sure what I am doing is being done correctly
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-26-2007, 06:24 PM
Beginner

Since I went veggie I've lost weight, but I think it all depends on how you were eating before. I used to not really care about nutrition or what I ate, but now I do because if I don't I'll probably get sick XD

Avoid the usual bad food...like chips and soda and whatnot. I think if you just eat balanced and research what your body needs you won't have to worry about gaining anything...I'm new to this too so I'm probably not much help.
#3 Old 03-26-2007, 07:14 PM

As a vegetarian the key to losing weight is the same as with anything. You need to burn more calories than you take in. It really depends on what you were eating before and what you decide to eat now.

Many of the processed burgers have a lot of calories in them, and then you have to put them on bread. Pastas, rices, breads, a lot of time have a lot of calories per serving. I see that you have pb, which I'm guessing is peanut butter. Remember that pb has a lot of calories per serving as do most nuts. And I myself admit that pb&j is one of my weaknesses when it comes to food, but I just remember to use a small amount.

You don't have to cut any items out just eat them as you should any food, in proper serving size/portion. Look into nutritional needs for your height/weight, and what a serving size should look like.