New to Vegetarianism - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-02-2006, 03:24 PM

I'm new to being a vegetarian as of today. It seems hard for me to give up meat though. Tofu is just like meat, but I know it isn't the same, so I just can't enjoy it. If no one has any objections, I'd like to post a few enquiries:

1. What are the benefits of being a vegetarian?

2. How can I give up meat fully?

3. Is it ok to eat meat every once in a long while?

Thanks, everyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-02-2006, 03:54 PM
Veggie Regular

Hi! There's lots and lots of benefits to being vegetarian. Aside from the obvious benefit of not having to kill animals for food, there's loads of health benefits. Obesity is less common among vegetarians as well as heart disease, most cancers, diabetes and other ailments. Plant-based foods have more vitamins, minerals and fiber than animal-based foods and also have far less saturated fat and no cholesterol. The only vitamin that you can't get from plant-based foods is b-12 and since lots of vegetarian convenience foods (like veggie burgers and soymilk) are enriched with b-12, it's not a huge concern. If you're going to continue consuming dairy and/or eggs, you don't need to worry about b-12 at all (however, a vegan diet is healthier IMO.)

I found it VERY easy to give up meat fully (I've only been vegetarian for a few months.) I actually like vegetarian versions of foods typically made of meat way better than the real thing. There's tons of vegetarian convenience foods out there that make the transition a breeze (though you shouldn't depend on them.) There's about a billion vegetarian cookbooks and websites out there that'll help you figure out what to eat.