Can I be vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-13-2006, 06:20 PM

I am new to vegetarianism. I have only been a veggie for about three months. I was planning to go vegan at first and gentley merge into it. I told my auntie this and she warned me that I should be careful to make sure I am getting all the things my body needs and that I should take things easy at first because humans are naturally carnivores and my body has grown all my life eating meat. She is not vegan or a veggie. So the upshot is that I decided to go vegetarian for a year and then change to vegan.

What are folks here views on this? Does it matter? Is it important? Does one have to go veggie first before vegan?

warm wishes,

EV
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-13-2006, 06:23 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagerVegan View Post

What are folks here views on this? Does it matter? Is it important? Does one have to go veggie first before vegan?

No, I know people who went straight from omnis to vegans! Base your opinion on nutritional facts and personal preference and keep up the good work

"Yes! Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death!" Auntie Mame
#3 Old 06-13-2006, 06:29 PM

Quote:

I am new to vegetarianism. I have only been a veggie for about three months. I was planning to go vegan at first and gentley merge into it. I told my auntie this and she warned me that I should be careful to make sure I am getting all the things my body needs and that I should take things easy at first because humans are naturally carnivores and my body has grown all my life eating meat. She is not vegan or a veggie. So the upshot is that I decided to go vegetarian for a year and then change to vegan.

warm wishes,

EV

your auntie is mistaken. humans are not naturally carnivores. humans are like bears - omnivores. we do not require meat, dairy or eggs to survive.

cats are carnivores. but mine likes hummus and soy yogurt, so go figure.
Sponsored Links