Kosher Gelatin? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 03-11-2006, 11:28 PM
Beginner
 
Chasing the Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 133
K, so I'm still learning and learning to read labels... all that, and I ate some yogurt and read the label after the fact (der, smart move, I know) and it said "Kosher gelatin"... WTH is that?



Is it gelatin NOT made from animals? Or just not made from beef? It wouldn't be Kosher if it was made from beef b/c it would dairy and meat... Is there such a thing? I'm a bit confused!



Paige
Chasing the Dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-11-2006, 11:37 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
It's gelatin that isn't made from pork. It's made from fish.
kpickell is offline  
#3 Old 03-11-2006, 11:53 PM
Beginner
 
Chasing the Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 133
aahhh.. thanks. that's gross. i had fish yogurt...
Chasing the Dog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 03-12-2006, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Lol, that was funny the way you said that. We live and learn.
GhostUser is offline  
#5 Old 03-12-2006, 12:40 AM
Banned
 
catgirl67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,754
I know there is vegan gelatin out there somewhere, but I'm not sure where to get it. You may want to use the search feature, because it's been mentioned on VB a while back.
catgirl67 is offline  
#6 Old 03-12-2006, 07:27 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Junia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 359
Ugh. I hate how much gelatin is out there.



The other day I was thinking of buying some iced oatmeal cookies, but when I read the label, it said "fish gelatin." Mmm... fish gelatin... yeah right. I figure anyone who actually reads the ingredient list would put the package right back on the shelf.
Junia is offline  
#7 Old 03-12-2006, 10:04 AM
Veggie Regular
 
meatless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,670
There's *sort of* vegan gelatin... things like pectin and agar agar. There used to be a company called Emes who claimed they manufactured a vegan kosher gelatin but they were liars.



https://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...highlight=Emes
meatless is offline  
#8 Old 03-12-2006, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 33
yeah,you can find recipes for making your own jello type desserts, if ya like em. they use agar agar, as mentioned and also kudzu powder. I made some with orange juice awhile back and it came out pretty good.
Bean is offline  
#9 Old 03-12-2006, 11:54 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bekajoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,104
glycerine makes a gel-like texture in things... but, lol, you wouldn't really want THAT in your food. (good for thickenining homemade laundry detergent, though)



There's plenty of good stuff out there (hard as it may be to find) without gelatin in it. Just try to take a little more time when you go shopping and read labels a bit more. I know it's hard, and I almost never have the time... but I've got a good idea now what to watch out for~



And like the others said... don't sweat it. Live and learn. Now you know another brand to avoid~
bekajoi is offline  
#10 Old 03-13-2006, 06:27 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
I've seen vegan jello. But anything that just says "gelatin" is animal(unless it happend to say vegetarian gelatin...which I've never seen).
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
#11 Old 03-13-2006, 04:21 PM
Veggie Regular
 
steinbock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 531
do any companies ever use agar agar instead of gelatin, by any slim chance ? i don't mean that they put gelatin but use agar agar, but actually list on the ingrediants list "...., agar agar, ..."
steinbock is offline  
#12 Old 03-13-2006, 06:55 PM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinbock View Post

do any companies ever use agar agar instead of gelatin, by any slim chance ? i don't mean that they put gelatin but use agar agar, but actually list on the ingrediants list "...., agar agar, ..."

The vegan jello I saw, I think it was made with agar agar. I'm not sure though cause I never bought it.
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
#13 Old 03-13-2006, 08:12 PM
Beginner
 
YoungBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 168
There is a brand of kosher jello under the brand of Kojel which contains no gelatin.
YoungBuck is offline  
#14 Old 03-13-2006, 08:14 PM
Newbie
 
dread_girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20
I've had the Kojel Jello it's pretty good. i've seen vegan marshmellows out there they are good too.
dread_girl is offline  
#15 Old 03-13-2006, 09:04 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Junia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 359
Yes, I've had vegan marshmallows -- can't remember the brand -- and I couldn't tell the difference. There is marshmallow fluff, too, at least some of which is vegan.
Junia is offline  
#16 Old 03-14-2006, 08:47 PM
Beginner
 
lightrailcoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
there is gelatin in film...damn it.



i have probably spent hundreds of dollars this month on photography.



ah well, i'm learning...and going digital.
lightrailcoyote is offline  
#17 Old 03-14-2006, 08:57 PM
Newbie
 
Vivian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
If you want "gelitan" not made from animals, the closest thing, I believe, would be agar-agar. It is a thickening agent made from sea weed.
Vivian is offline  
#18 Old 03-15-2006, 09:02 AM
Veggie Regular
 
bluegrrrl79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungBuck View Post

There is a brand of kosher jello under the brand of Kojel which contains no gelatin.

Ok yup, that's the one I was thinking of, I couldn't remember the name but I knew it started with a "K". I don't like jello though, it's all squishy and weird.
bluegrrrl79 is offline  
#19 Old 03-15-2006, 06:36 PM
Veggie Regular
 
karenlovessnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home Sweet Home
Posts: 12,079
I just made the most awesome pie using agar agar. I just blended some with pureed apricots, tofutti cream cheese and a bit of organic cane sugar (sweet tooth). My non-veggie friends loved it and so did I!
karenlovessnow is offline  
#20 Old 03-15-2006, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
Vivian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinbock View Post

do any companies ever use agar agar instead of gelatin, by any slim chance ? i don't mean that they put gelatin but use agar agar, but actually list on the ingrediants list "...., agar agar, ..."



You'd probably have to check at one of the major health food stores. It's doubtful that the average ordinary supermarket would carry products made with Agar-Agar.
Vivian is offline  
#21 Old 03-15-2006, 06:51 PM
 
IamJen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,134
Steinbock..there is a brand called "Superfruits" that uses seaweed, and labels it as such on the box. Also, I've found some at Halal markets.

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
IamJen is offline  
#22 Old 03-16-2006, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
chrismith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
agar agar. check an asian market, if you have one.
chrismith is offline  
#23 Old 03-16-2006, 10:57 AM
Beginner
 
piratebean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 175
A further note on kosher gelatin: Jell-o is considered Kosher. Here's some information on that decision:



"JELL-O Brand gelatin is certified as Kosher by a recognized orthodox Rabbi as per enclosed RESPONSUM. In addition to being Kosher, Jell-O is also Pareve, and can be eaten with either a meat meal or a dairy meal."



They included a sheet with a copy of "The Halachic Basis of our Kashruth Certification of Atlantic Gelatin and the General Foods Products containing this Gelatin" by Rabbi Yehuda Gershuni & Rabbi David Telsner. The upshot is that since the collagen has been taken apart by the chemical digestion and a new substance has been produced it meets the specifications of the Orthodox Dietary Laws and is Kosher and Pareve." (From: http://users.rcn.com/sue.interport/food/gelatin.html.)



So, basically, the reason that Jell-O is considere Kosher is that it is so far removed from the original animal product itself, that it can be considered a different product altogether, and can, therefore, be considered kosher.



However, from a vegan or vegetarian standpoint, it is still considered an animal product. So, if something says 'kosher gelatin', that just means that the gelatin has been certified kosher, but it does not mean anything regarding the source of the gelatin.



This brings up two important points for veg*ns: just because something is kosher does not mean it will necessarily adhere to the standards of being 'non-animal sourced' that you would apply to your food choices. Conversely, just because some items that have the "D" symbol on them (which indicates that it contains Dairy, according to the rabbis who inspected it) does not mean that dairy is one of the actual ingredients. Rather, it means that the product was produced on equipment that also was used to produce dairy products. (I'm not very well-versed on Jewish dietary laws, but I understand that their dairy plates are supposed to be kept separate from other plates; similarly, factory equipment used to produce dairy items is considered a 'dairy plate', and so anything produced on it is considered to have been produced with dairy.)



So, in short, it's a good idea to read the ingredient label to find out what's actually in the product. Jewish dietary law symbols can be helpful, but they are not exactly the same as what some veg*ns would follow in their own food guidelines.



And I'd be glad to hear more about Jewish dietary laws from someone who is familiar with them, but that's probably the subject of another thread.
piratebean is offline  
#24 Old 03-17-2006, 12:46 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Junia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by steinbock View Post

do any companies ever use agar agar instead of gelatin, by any slim chance ? i don't mean that they put gelatin but use agar agar, but actually list on the ingrediants list "...., agar agar, ..."





I thought about your post when I was in the store the other day and saw a mix for Reese's snack bars or some such thing (like no-bake peanut-butter brownies). They listed agar-agar on the ingredients! Of course, they also listed milk, so it wasn't for me... but it was interesting to notice.
Junia is offline  
#25 Old 06-12-2006, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Hi, so what is a good kosher vegan gel that we can use for hardening or thickening food? Any suggestions?
newbie is offline  
#26 Old 06-12-2006, 04:45 AM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Yes newbie, you can use Agar Agar.
kpickell is offline  
#27 Old 06-12-2006, 04:57 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Misty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamJen View Post

Steinbock..there is a brand called "Superfruits" that uses seaweed, and labels it as such on the box. Also, I've found some at Halal markets.





Halal ? What does that mean? I see it often on products.
Misty is offline  
#28 Old 06-12-2006, 05:13 AM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Kosher is to Judaism what Halal is to Islam.
kpickell is offline  
#29 Old 06-13-2006, 07:01 AM
Beginner
 
YoungBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 168
A kosher dairy or pareve item may contain meat products. If the amount of an ingredient is considered to be so insignificant, it is treated as it is not in the food at all. This is why kosher cheese may contain rennet. Hence, you can not rely on kosher labeling as a standard for a food's veg*n status.
YoungBuck is offline  
#30 Old 06-13-2006, 07:07 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Seb_0810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,320
I have a gel-like candy called "Jelly Straws" that use a seaweed extract.
Seb_0810 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off