Kosher Gelatin? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-11-2006, 11:28 PM
Beginner

K, so I'm still learning and learning to read labels... all that, and I ate some yogurt and read the label after the fact (der, smart move, I know) and it said "Kosher gelatin"... WTH is that?

Is it gelatin NOT made from animals? Or just not made from beef? It wouldn't be Kosher if it was made from beef b/c it would dairy and meat... Is there such a thing? I'm a bit confused!

Paige
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-11-2006, 11:37 PM
Veggie Regular

It's gelatin that isn't made from pork. It's made from fish.
#3 Old 03-11-2006, 11:53 PM
Beginner

aahhh.. thanks. that's gross. i had fish yogurt...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-12-2006, 12:01 AM

Lol, that was funny the way you said that. We live and learn.
#5 Old 03-12-2006, 12:40 AM
Banned

I know there is vegan gelatin out there somewhere, but I'm not sure where to get it. You may want to use the search feature, because it's been mentioned on VB a while back.
#6 Old 03-12-2006, 07:27 AM
Veggie Regular

Ugh. I hate how much gelatin is out there.

The other day I was thinking of buying some iced oatmeal cookies, but when I read the label, it said "fish gelatin." Mmm... fish gelatin... yeah right. I figure anyone who actually reads the ingredient list would put the package right back on the shelf.
#7 Old 03-12-2006, 10:04 AM
Veggie Regular

There's *sort of* vegan gelatin... things like pectin and agar agar. There used to be a company called Emes who claimed they manufactured a vegan kosher gelatin but they were liars.

https://www.veggieboards.com/boards/s...highlight=Emes
#8 Old 03-12-2006, 10:25 AM

yeah,you can find recipes for making your own jello type desserts, if ya like em. they use agar agar, as mentioned and also kudzu powder. I made some with orange juice awhile back and it came out pretty good.
#9 Old 03-12-2006, 11:54 AM
Veggie Regular