Les Croissants?? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-12-2006, 03:48 AM

Hi,

I adore croissants, but this morning i was told that thay are made from animal fat, whilst i had one in my mouth . I am new to vegetarianism so i dnt know much about which non-meat foods use animal products. I would really like to know if croissants get the green light.... im gonna have to weane myself off of them

Thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-12-2006, 03:59 AM
Veggie Regular

They're made with butter which is a dairy product; if you're vegetarian, they are fine... I'm pretty sure they're not made with animal fats like beef tallow or lard.
#3 Old 02-12-2006, 04:00 AM

Croissants are just flaky dough. They're flaky because in between each thin layer of dough is a layer of fat. The fat separates the layers and produce steam while baking, producing thin layers of flaky bread. Most good croissants use butter, but I supposed you could use a vegan margarine if you wanted to make them. Making them sounds like a pain in the butt. You have to roll out the dough, then spread a thin layer of margarine. Then fold it in half. Then roll out the dough again. Then spread more margarine. Then fold it in half. Etc. You could just buy some filo or puff pastry dough and bake it at home.

Here's a recipe for them.

http://recipecircus.com/recipes/CVC/...roissants.html

Although you might be able to find a place that uses vegan margarine instead of butter. Or maybe you could try those pillsbury flaky biscuits instead, I don't know if they're vegan though.

HTH,

~Wonder
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 02-12-2006, 04:39 AM
Veggie Regular

i've made homemade croissants before, they take a little effort, but they are worth the effort - better than pre-made dough!

and pillsbury crescent rolls are vegan, the last time i checked..
#5 Old 02-12-2006, 04:51 AM

Some of those pillsbury flaky biscuits sound real good right about now