Ramen Noodles? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-16-2006, 07:07 PM

Are Ramen noodles vegetarian friendly? I know the noodles would be okay, but what about the seasoning?

I wanted to make some for lunch today but realized we don't have any, and then I started wondering if it's something I'd even be "able" to eat. So if anyone knows for sure that'd be great, Ramen is often what I eat when I get home from school, lol. Even if it's not that's okay, I'm new to the vegetarian thing so trying to find things I'm familiar with to eat, but I'm also looking for new things to try!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-16-2006, 07:25 PM
Beginner

you would have to look at the ingredients. most that i've looked at have meat flavors in the seasoning packs, even the "oriental" flavored ones. I don't eat it, but maybe a wholefood brand makes some that are veggie friendly. I do know that most have a lot of sodium and other stuff you might not want to be eating (MSG, etc).
#3 Old 01-16-2006, 07:50 PM
Veggie Regular

if you have a natural foods store near you, KOYO has a whole line of vegetarian ramen noodles (vegan, in fact). They come in a bunch of fantastic flavors and while they're a tad more expensive than some brands they are organic and go for around a buck- which is still pretty darn cheap, especially for organic!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 01-16-2006, 07:59 PM
Veggie Regular

Maruchan makes a mushroom flavor. It rocks.
#5 Old 01-16-2006, 08:04 PM
Veggie Regular

The OP is "new" to vegetarianism folks - lets cut them some slack and just answer the question instead of loading them down and confusing them with unasked for advice (good as it might be)...

The question was: "Are Ramen noodles vegetarian friendly? I know the noodles would be okay, but what about the seasoning?"

The questions were NOT "are they healthy?" or "where can I buy vegan ones?"