Summer Vacation - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-02-2006, 10:40 PM
Veggie Regular

I know, it's only the beginning of January, but today I started to think about my family's summer vacation and am beginning to worry about traveling as a vegetarian. In the summer we are planning on going on a cross country trip and I'm not sure how I'll be able to eat a meatless diet. My family is the type who goes to lots of fast food restaurants while on vacation. I don't want to wreck our plans in anyway, or disrespect my parent's food decisions. Do you have any food ideas for me such as high protein foods that can fit in a purse? I'm thining of keeping fruit, nuts, and my vitamins inside my purse. I'm sorry it's so soon by the way, but I'd like to know what I'm doing foodwise before the trip gets close! Thank you all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-02-2006, 10:50 PM

Well, Im new to all this but i would suggest granola bars. there small and fit easily into a purse. Dont forget, all restuarants have salad bars and baked potatoes, veggies and stuff like that. Also, since its a cross country trip im sure you might find some veggie restuarants while your traveling. Ask your parents what cities you think youll all be traveling, that way you can do online research and find the town and see what restuarants they have. Hope this helps!
#3 Old 01-03-2006, 11:32 AM

If your parents are insistent on fast food, and you're not 100% vegan (if you still eat milk and egg products), you may want to try asking them to go to Burger King... Burger King has a delicious Veggie Patty (you may want to ask them to microwave it, as they sometimes cook it on the same surface as meat products) and their french fries do not contain any animal products (like all of the other fast food restaurants)... For breakfast, their biscuits and hash browns are also animal free. Just avoid the cheeses b/c they do contain enzymes from animals... Good luck on your vacation!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement