Potential Vegetarian Diet? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 08-21-2013, 09:36 AM
 
Askiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forums, and I joined because I have a few important questions about transitioning to vegetarianism. I have multiple food allergies, mostly to dairy, soy, shellfish, and all nuts. I was wondering if it would still be possible to become a vegetarian with these dietary restrictions, and if so what sorts of foods I would have to eat.

Askiya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-21-2013, 10:20 AM
 
jpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 422

First, no worry about the shellfish allergy because eating shellfish is not vegetarian. Dairy is easily avoidable too. As to nuts and soy, I've never avoided them so hopefully someone else will offer you advice in those areas.

jpaul is offline  
#3 Old 08-21-2013, 12:46 PM
Veggie Regular
 
penny79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,946

Yes, absolutely you can be a vegetarian and vegan with those allergies.  :)

 

Foods you may love to eat:

collards

kale

spinach

chard

romaine

butter lettuce

iceberg lettuce

boston lettuce red leaf lettuce

celery

cabbage

carrots

beets

turnips

potatoes

jicama

winter squashes

summer squashes

tomatoes

citrus fruits

papaya

pineapple

bananas

eggplant

avocado

zucchini

yellow squash

herbs

melons

apples

pears

kiwi

bell peppers

other peppers

coconuts

grapes

dates

berries

mangoes

 

black beans

navy beans

kidney beans

chickpeas

lentils

pinto beans

 

oats

rice

quinoa

teff

millet

corn

 

sesame seeds

pumpkin seeds

sunflower seeds

flax seeds

hemp seeds

chia seeds

 

 

 

Not an exhaustive list, but plenty of choices. :)

penny79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 08-21-2013, 04:21 PM
Tom
Veggie Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5,199

Penny has lots of good ideas just above. I suppose every additional restriction makes things a bit harder, but mostly, your problem might be eating out. Lots of vegetarian dishes which you don't make yourself will have dairy, soy, or nuts; vegan dishes shouldn't have dairy, but you'll still have to watch out for the other two.

 

I'm fortunate enough to have a vegan bakery/restaurant in my area, and when they have their buffet, they label everything VERY carefully in consideration for people with sensitivities like yours.


Peasant (1963-1972) and Fluffy (1970s?-1982- I think of you as 'Ambrose' now)- Your spirits outshone some humans I have known. Be happy forever.
Tom is offline  
#5 Old 08-31-2013, 01:01 PM
 
Askiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3

Sorry that this response is a little late, but thanks to all of you for your helpful replies!

Askiya is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off