Possible to be a vegetarian and wheat free too? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-08-2013, 08:47 AM

Hi everyone-I'm brand new to this and very confused tongue3.gif My background-recently lost around 50lbs doing intermittent fasting, while still eating the foods I normally ate (typical SAD diet). As I transitioned into maintenance this spring I got really involved in primal eating, after reading a few books/sites about the supposed health benefits. At this time I also read Wheat Belly and decided to cut back on wheat products, to see if that would help with the bloating I had dealt with for years. I was pleasantly surprised to see that reducing wheat did indeed fix that issue, as well as cleared up my adult acne. I thought I had it all figured out-I started doing a different form of IF for maintenance (also known as 8:16IF), and I was eating a mostly meat and veggie diet with minimal wheat.

Fast forward to now (several months after the switch), and I'm gaining weight and starting to feel generally yucky. Won't go into too much detail, but all the meat consumption (at every meal), has really started doing a number on my digestion, ugh. On another forum I'm at there's a lot of vegetarians, and as I started reading more about eating this way, it just makes sense to me. I also have a BIG family tree of cancers (breast and colon) and eating vegetarian seems to help, or at least not hurt, my chances of avoiding this in my own life. If I'm honest with myself I can't say the same about eating primal.