Conflicted - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-28-2012, 06:02 PM

Hi everyone!

I am writing this as I feel very conflicted at the moment. I am seriously considering becoming vegetarian/vegan however there are many factors in my life that seem to make it difficult.

I consider myself an animal lover. I'm a Veterinary Nurse, have 2 gorgeous furbabies of my own (a rescue cat and a Miniature Dachshund), have tried to be as good a consumer as possible - my cleaning/beauty products on the most part are vegan, I have read about animal cruelty and watched documentaries on the subject and buy free range/organic animal products. But recently I feel this isn't enough and the decisions I've made (ie. organic/free range animal products) aren't that great afterall (for example I was shocked to learn the male chicks are killed in the egg industry - even the free range/organic industry).

I do want to become more educated on this issue of animal welfare and actually physically go to places with farm animals. I don't know if this sounds weird but I want to try and break down the barriers between the meat on my plate and where it comes from. There's a farm sanctuary about an hour away from me with rescued factory farmed animals I want to go. I feel like it well help cement my feelings and give me more physical evidence when talking to my partner, his family about my reasons why to become vegetarian. I want first hand experience. Would it be worthwhile contacting animal liberation in my state and enquiring about this??

I was a vegetarian when I was young - around 11 - 12 years old, however I became anaemic and my mum didn't want me to continue it anymore. Being so young I was easily persuaded!

There are a few aspects of my life which make this decision hard.

A small aspect is my job. As a Veterinary Nurse I sell meat and animal products, pre packaged pet foods, medications that would have been tested on animals. There's not really anyway to get around this.