Help with a standard Vegetarian/ Vegan shopping list - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-27-2012, 09:18 AM

I would really appreciate some advice as to a basic shopping list for when I go shopping tomorrow.

I never really planned to become vegetarian, rather just fell into it. So I haven't really planned any new meals and I'm not sure whether I'm getting enough nutrients etc.

I have gradually been buying less and less meat to a point that I no longer buy any meat. I have been replacing meat with things like butternut squash, aubergine and way too much cheese as a meat replacement. I'd ideally like to cut out dairy too as I feel guilty having milk and eating cheese too.

I was just wondering what a standard food shop would be for people on this forum.

I was planning on buying some soy milk and almond milk. I've never tried them before.

I was going to buy lots of kidney beans, butter beans, lentils.
Also potato, bananas and any other fruit I can think of, which I can also make smoothies out of.
B12 vitamin tablets.
Sunflower and pumpkin seeds.
Dried fruit.
Spinach and some other fresh vegetables.
Soya pieces and quorn mince. Maybe some bean burgers.

I don't have a lot of time on my hands for preparing meals etc. I was hoping that there are things that I can make at the weekend that will last the week. Also stuff to take to work with me.

I quite like vegetables, beans, nuts and seeds etc. So it's not like I think I will feel I'm missing out on the meat in my new diet.
Sorry to babble but I'm feeling a bit daunted by the transition.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-27-2012, 09:24 AM
Veggie Regular

Welcome...if you tell us where you are (uk/us/aus) we can give you better answers on what shops and items you can buy
#3 Old 01-27-2012, 09:38 AM

Hi there, I am from UK. Berkshire. I see you are from the UK too.
My closest supermarkets are Sainsbury's and Aldi. I tend to do my big monthly shops at Sainsbury's.