What's the problem with soy? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-23-2011, 01:49 PM

I'm still new to the whole vegetarian thing and I see soy being brought up a LOT. I am just wondering why so many people choose to cut it out, or keep it to a minimum.

Thanks,
Mark
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-23-2011, 02:02 PM
Veggie Regular

Because people are stupid. Soy is great. There's no evidence that it's bad for you, there's just a lot of false, malicious information out there that tries to scare people away from this wonderful bean.
#3 Old 03-23-2011, 02:03 PM
Veggie Regular

There are already a gajillion threads on this, but, to reiterate the points, there is some evidence that soy may not be as healthy as it is made out to be.

I am too lazy to get citations, but you can google around easily enough. Soy, in the form of tofu, has been correlated with increased risk of Alzheimer's in one study. In another, the phytoestrogens in soy were given a cautionary status with people who are susceptible to certain estrogen sensitive cancers. Some studies show that it may interfere with thyroid function as well.

Does that mean soy is dangerous? No. Typically the amounts used were quite high, and even then the evidence is not conclusive. Some people just cut it out all together, while others limit their consumption. I think limiting your consumption is a good plan for any food really. You aren't going to die if you have tofu once a year. I regularly eat tofu, although I am not consuming ten bricks of it a day.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-23-2011, 02:11 PM
Veggie Regular

Soy is also said to be mucus-forming, like milk, so if you're prone to sinus problems/phlegm, it's best to keep it at a minimum
#5 Old 03-23-2011, 02:40 PM

I have hypothyroidism and soy make me more sick
even before my illness i cant stand soy I don't like its taste
#6 Old 03-23-2011, 02:46 PM
Veggie Regular