New potential vegetarian has question on egg whites? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-15-2010, 11:28 AM

I am new to the vegetarian scene. So far today I've eaten a bowl of corn flakes, two boiled egg whites and a bean burrito. Are there any benifits to eating the egg whites or no? The place I currently stay at serves alot of meat. So for dinner I can only eat the rice and bread that is offered there.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-15-2010, 11:32 AM
Veggie Regular

Egg whites are a good source of protein, but lack the high amount of fat present in the yolk. Since you have so little to eat and you won't be eating meat anymore, it wouldn't be harmful to you to eat the yolk too. Vegetarians rarely have high cholesterol, since the main source of cholesterol is meat. (Unless, of course, you ate only eggs and cheese all day)
#3 Old 09-15-2010, 11:36 AM

Thanks dormouse! Oh also I had some milk with the cereal, hoping to use soy from now on.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 09-15-2010, 11:39 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integrity P View Post

Thanks dormouse! Oh also I had some milk with the cereal, hoping to use soy from now on.

What is your living situation? You mentioned that food is pretty much provided for you and you have limited options? Why is that?
#5 Old 09-15-2010, 11:42 AM

Im away from home in a dorm and we're served the food that is given there.
#6 Old 09-15-2010, 01:42 PM

Don't they offer a vegetable side with dinner?? I rarely go hungry even when eating family-style with meat-eaters because I just have a double (or triple) serving of whatever vegetables are offered. If you're eating at a university cafeteria with no veggies you have cause to complain...
#7 Old 09-15-2010, 08:54 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetdena View Post