Need some help on my food choices - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-13-2010, 09:26 AM

Hello everyone i am relatively new to being a veggie, i mean new as in about a week, though i never ate much meat before hand, i chose to give up meat and fish as over the last 6 months i;ve been ill and on a fair amount of medication and to be honest i felt so unhealthy and decided that this would be a good choice to follow. Well good news is its amazing, i have no cravings and i feel healthy at last! But my only trouble is i'm allergic to soya and i cant stomach mushrooms so currently working what i could eat for protein and such. I'm a good cook so any suggestion would be great. Also i hope i have posted this in the right forum, if not please forgive as i've just joined.

Brightest blessings LadyO
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-13-2010, 09:32 AM
Veggie Regular

Soya is a better source of [excess] fat than protein, as are nuts and seeds and eggs.

You could try eating green leafy vegetables.
#3 Old 05-13-2010, 09:36 AM

Ahh well i;ve been keeping it rainbow colored with a good mix of things with pulses too, i'm readjusting to it very nicely but i alas need to make sure i'm doing it right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 05-13-2010, 09:39 AM
Veggie Regular

If you get enough calories and variety of vegetables, you get enough protein.
#5 Old 05-13-2010, 09:40 AM

Thank you penny, thankfully my friends and family have got over poking me about it and are be far more supportive lol.
#6 Old 05-13-2010, 09:44 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by penny79 View Post

If you get enough calories and variety of vegetables, you get enough protein.

This. Whole grains too.

Also don't worry about not liking mushrooms, there's plenty of us out there who can't stomach them!
#7 Old 05-13-2010, 09:49 AM