Art is about immaturity- Art flame. - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-09-2006, 04:08 PM
Veggie Regular

In my mom's own words: art is for twelve years olds.

I'm supposed to hide my portfolio and keep it secret that I'm an artist. This is because artists are immature. It makes me it just furious.

I accepted that hardly anyone will hire you to do artwork so I made some scafices, I quit doing any artwork for well over a year so I could focus on getting a job sucessfully. I did a small amount of artwork while I had a toe injuury and couldn't walk and then went back to taking along a file everytime I go places so I can draw everytime people keep me waiting and I get crap like this.

I do not shove my artwork in peoples faces, but if they show interest, I love to show it. I'm not like here's my awesome great super talent and here's my masterpieces....I'm kinda like here's the ones I like. I have no other real talents and who knows I might get discovered and hired so why the hell not?.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-09-2006, 04:21 PM
Veggie Regular

If that makes you happy you should continue to do what you're doing, IMO.

I bet there are plenty of other artists who do it for pleasure and not as a career, maybe you can meet some others and find how they promote themselves or create opportunities, if that interests you.

Good for you I say!
#3 Old 09-09-2006, 04:24 PM
Banned

I concur!

ETA: with hamilton. Not your mom.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 09-09-2006, 04:31 PM
Veggie Regular

Even if you ended up in a job not related to the arts, why would you need to stop or hide your art? I totally don't get that. Most people have interests outside of their careers... if you love it, why stop?
#5 Old 09-09-2006, 06:51 PM
Beginner

I have never listened to my parent on what she has to say aboutr my art.

I enjoy surrealism, psychedelic art work...

My moms tells me its stupid, weird, disquisting.. and whatever else.