Why so expensive? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-08-2008, 10:13 AM

I am new to the whole vegetarian lifestyle. And have noticed that fruits and veggies are expensive, and more so are the organic ones!! Why do they make it difficult for those of us who are not made of money to eat healthy. Its almost like they want us to eat that crap, and be unhealthy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-08-2008, 11:10 AM

Fruits and vegetables like apples, bananas, cabbages, lettuce, spinach, potatoes, carrots, onions, and dark leafy greens seem to be cheap all year around. Then there are frozen vegetables which last a while in your freezer. I always shop at Chinese and Mexican markets to pick up things like fruits, vegetables, and soy products. They always offer much more variety and better prices than your typical American markets like Vons and Albertsons. I think I spend roughly 80 to 90 bucks a month feeding myself with lots of leftover.
#3 Old 06-08-2008, 11:14 AM
Veggie Regular

Meat is subsidized, fruits and vegetables aren't so much.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-08-2008, 11:56 AM
Veggie Regular

Wow, our food bill is through the roof most months. When we go into the store, we come out with about $50-$60 in food and that lasts us a little more than a week and a half. And thats when we are only eating vegetarian. When we try and go vegan it gets a bit more expensive since I like a lot of soy.
#5 Old 06-08-2008, 12:23 PM
Veggie Regular

i spend about $75/week for a vegan family of four--and mostly organic. you just have to buy in bulk/on sale and cook from scratch!
#6 Old 06-12-2008, 07:43 PM