I am in LOVE with this chilli - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-04-2013, 01:18 PM

I am new to a vegan lifestyle and I am new to this wonderful forum. So I made this chilli today without really following any recipe and even my mom(who is a meat eater) told me this was delicious and I felt I had to share this recipe with other vegans/vegetarians. Its insanely easy and very filling.

What I used:

about 1/2 cup diced onion

1 package Yves ground "beef"

Butter substitute

1 can Progresso Lentil soup(I know sounds kinda weird to add to chilli but it made it yummy and added fiber/protein)

Tomato chunks(I used canned tomato chunks but next time I will use fresh)

Chilli powder

First I sautéed the onions and then I added a whole package of Yves ground "beef" and I added a spoonful of earth balance butter and then I added a whole can of Progresso vegetable classics lentil soup after I drained some of the liquid and then I added the tomato chunks and then I just added Chilli powder to taste.I absolutely LOVED it!! It made quite a bit so I can have it for at least three meals.  

like I said I'm new to veganism and I would love to hear any suggestions on how I could improve this recipe to perhaps make it a little more healthy. :)

Werewolf Girl likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-04-2013, 05:40 PM
Not such a Beginner ;)

Hi Jessica, I also love chili! You could add a can or two of beans, like pinto, red, blck, navy, any kind really. Or frozen peas. Also, frozen vegetables are cheap and healthy, so you can throw some of those in too, if you like. With chili, it is all about the delicious spices that make everything taste good. smiley.gif
#3 Old 06-04-2013, 10:11 PM
Veggie Regular

I love vegan chili! Your recipe sounds delicious.
I recently made chili and threw some quinoa in there- yum! I also added a lot of random chopped veggies- zucchini, carrots, bell peppers, etc.