Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Jennifer C
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By healthylicious

#1 Old 09-12-2012, 10:22 AM
Zelda Freak

Recipe: Black Bean Chilaquile

Suitable for: Vegetarian, vegan + those meat eaters who say they won't like vegetarian food.

Black Bean Chilaquile is hands down one of my FAVORITE veg recipes ever. I've been making it for over 12 years and every single person who eats it (meat eaters and vegetarians) loves it. I originally got this recipe from Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites: Flavorful Recipes for Healthful Meals, but it doesn't taste low-fat at all. 

PS I make this all organic - but that's up to you. 

You'll need:

• 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tablespoon organic olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped tomato - DO NOT use canned. Fresh is the only way to go
  • 1 and 1/2 cups fresh corn kernels - or use frozen, but it's better with fresh
  • 1 and 1/2 cups prepared (cooked) black beans (15 ounce can, drained, or make yourself with dry beans for less sodium)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 cups rinsed stemmed and chopped FRESH not frozen swiss chard or spinach (I always use spinach)
  • 2 cups crushed baked corn tortilla chips - look for organic baked chips in the natural section of your grocery store) *8 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese OR vegan cheddar cheese
  • 2 cups prepared mexican-style salsa - sometimes I make homemade, other times I use organic jarred.

*I used to make this with real cheese and it was great. Now, being vegan and hating vegan cheese in large amounts, I tried making this by adding a bit more salsa and just a little sprinkling of vegan cheese and it worked great. If you like vegan cheese feel free to use more, but get the "sharpest" cheddar you can. 

To make the filling:

• Sauté the onions in the olive oil until translucent.