Are weights absolutely necessary? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-03-2007, 11:42 AM
Veggie Regular

Heya All,

I wanted to ask a quick question about weights. I try to go to the gym everyday, and when I'm there do about 40-50mins of cardio - usually a mixture of bike, treadmill and cross-trainer. When I'm in a rush I just do the bike and treadmill, 20mins of each. Thing is, I'm almost always in a rush, and my life is about to get busier - I'm a student nurse and have a hospital placement coming up.

My question is, are weights absolutely necessary? I know that a greater muscle mass increases basal metabolic rate, but I know people who do nothing but cycle everywhere, or power walk for miles and, therefore, do no 'weight training', so I'm not so sure - surely consistent cycling, or walking also builds muscle?

Thanks,

Cyr.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-03-2007, 11:52 AM
Veggie Regular

Doing weights increases bone density. I'd say that's very important, especially as you age.

m8itcanw8.com
#3 Old 09-03-2007, 12:37 PM
Veggie Regular

Could you shave 10 minutes off your cardio to fit in a different body area of weights each day? It is an important part of a good workout, and, as the previous poster said, important especially for bone density.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 09-03-2007, 01:02 PM
Veggie Regular

Yeah, I just failed my bone density test and my doc is suggesting weight training. I hate weights but I'll do it if it helps!
#5 Old 09-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Veggie Regular

Thanks for the advice all!

When I used to exercise and had more time I always did weights, and it certainly did me no harm. I saw a huge difference in body size, weight and shape - but as I was doing both cardio and weights after having absolutely no fitness regime in my life, I didn't know which was doing all the good.

Would shaving ten minutes off the cardio be detrimental at all?

Thanks,

Cyr.
#6 Old 09-03-2007, 03:15 PM
Veggie Regular