Kundalini Yoga Anyone? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-24-2006, 07:30 PM
Veggie Regular

Hi guys,

I do yoga, mainly hatha, vinyasa, ashtanga... I never tried Kundalini before. I'm curious as I went to amazon.com and saw great reviews for the Kundalini yoga DVD's from Ana Brett.... I think it's called Fat Free Yoga...

Has any of you tried this kind of yoga? is it really different?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...v=glance&n=130
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-24-2006, 08:23 PM
Veggie Regular

I'm not a fan. It's too fast.
#3 Old 04-24-2006, 09:02 PM
Veggie Regular

What do you mean by fast? the poses are done faster... thye don't hold the poses?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 04-24-2006, 10:53 PM
Veggie Regular

I'm not very good at describing things.. but for an example..

There's a pose where you'd sit on the floor and kind of hunch forward then arch back.. over and over.

It's been quite a while since I've tried it.. I mostly remember that it wasn't as pleasant as hatha yoga.
#5 Old 04-24-2006, 11:12 PM

I have the Ana/Ravi AM & PM Yoga DVD. I really like it. It's pretty intense, as the breathing exercises and poses are demanding and continuous (fast, repetitive arm/leg/various movements in a couple minute bursts). I hope that makes sense.

I'd recommend that one or the Kundalini for Beginners.
#6 Old 04-25-2006, 07:38 AM
Veggie Regular

Thanks for replying.... well I'm gonna get it, I'm curiuos to try some new yoga
#7 Old 04-25-2006, 08:51 AM
Veggie Regular

kundalini yoga is a fast form of yoga using quick, kinetic movements and breathing techniques to move kundalini energy through the body. it comes from a different religious and historical prespective than other forms of hatha yoga--it comes out of the sikh traditions, rather than the hindu/jain traditions.