VeggieBoards banner

Training for a half marathon...thinking about getting a apple smartwatch or fitbit

2K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  rylielovessoftball 
#1 ·
Hi, guys. I'm still totally new to vegetarianism and am starting my transition to being meatfree.

I am signed up to run in my first half marathon in August and I've been training like a madman. But I feel like I cannot get past not running more than 8 miles and I feel like I am dragging the last 2 if I try to do a 10 mile run. The marathon I think is like 13 or 14 miles. How do you get yourself prepared to not drag the last 2 miles home and get yourself ready to run the 13 or 14 miles to do the half marathon?

I'm also thinking about getting either a Apple Smartwatch or a Fitbit Surge. What has your experience been with either device and would you recommend it?

Thanks.

#2 ·
Running watches
If your main concern is a running watch, then don't get the Apple or the Fitbit. they are not full functioned running watches. I am a Garmin Fanboy so my opinion is admittedly biased. Garmin and TomTom have the best full-featured running watches. If you have the budget for an Apple Watch then you can afford a Garmin 645 Music. Which is what I would buy. To be able to leave my iPhone home has a lot of appeal to me.
The TomTom Spark and the Garmin 135 are more budget priced - but still have a lot of good features.
Maybe the most important feature you need to look for is to be able to program complex intervals into your watch. And I could be wrong about it but I think that feature is only available on full-featured running watches.