Half-Marathon, any tips? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 11-24-2009, 10:47 PM

Hello! I'm new to veggie boards and I came on here mainly because I'm becoming a vegetarian again (not that I was completely NOT one, but...it's complicated. Anyways...) Nutrition wise, I haven't really been treating myself well, and now that I joined a half-marathon, and will be training, I was wondering if there were any people who had any tips for vegetarians training for a half-marathon. Tips? =)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-25-2009, 03:47 AM
Beginner

Welcome to VB. I myself have been a vegetarian for 12 years and a vegan for 3, and I run 2 or 3 marathons per year. My interest in running many years ago started me down the path of veg*nism.

The training tips I would offer a vegetarian are the same that I would offer a non-veg:
  1. Find a good training plan - I suggest that you check out Hal Higdon's site (click here) for a plan that's right for you. Consistency in training is key to successfully completing your half-marathon goal. A good plan will help you avoid injury by gradually increasing your distance while giving your body days to rest, recover, and rebuild.
  2. Dedicate some time each day to working your core - Strengthening your abs, lower back, and glutes will allow you to run with the proper form. You don't have to go overboard on these, start off a 5 minutes per day and work up to 15 minutes per day. Check out Runners' World web site for runner specific core exercises.