Vegetarian diet during pregnancy - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-12-2008, 11:08 AM

So I'm fairly new to vegetarianism (just under 2 months). I initially went veg as part of a fertility diet recommended by my doctor, but have stuck with it for ethical reasons.

I just found out I'm expecting again (we've had multiple losses). I'd like to maintain a vegetarian lifestyle, but could use some nutrition resources. I've found a handful, but if you actually tally up all the calories their suggested menus contain, it's often 3K and beyond. If I ate all that, I would gain a tremendous amount of weight, which isn't good for baby, either!

I know there are many healthy veggie women out there (and really, it's easy to replace whatever protein/iron you'd get from meat). I'm just having trouble finding the guidelines I need!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-13-2008, 04:49 AM
Veggie Regular

There are a few books specifically on vegetarian pregnancy that might be helpful, and I know there is a great chapter in "Becoming Vegetarian" by Brenda Davis and Vesanto Melina, which is a great resource for new and more experienced vegetarians.

http://bringingyouohm.wordpress.com/

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavanto

'May everyone everywhere be happy
May the whole world be joyous'
#3 Old 02-14-2008, 06:24 AM

I was vegetarian during my pregnancy, and it was fine. I didn't gain a lot of weight, but my baby was ENORMOUS anyway {big babies run in my family}, weighing in at 11 lbs 4 oz {hello c-section! heh}. If you're worried about your baby's growth, I'd say have your doctor do regular growth scans. Your insurance should pay for them without issue, and it's nice to have the reassurance that your baby is growing appropriately.