Sorry you are stuck alone in your house on pager duty!
I'm not a wine drinker but I did find this:
Wines And Beers
Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation. Some of the ingredients used include:
- edible gelatins (made from bones)
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins)
- animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder)
[For more information see Vegan Wines available in the U.S. and Vegan Wine Guide. For two on-line retailers of vegan wine, click here.]
In the UK beer (bitter) is also commonly fined using isinglass. Many bottled bitters and most lagers are vegan. Guinness is not suitable for vegans. Most spirits are vegan except for Campari (contains cochineal) and some Vodkas (passed through bone charcoal).
[Click here for a list of vegan beers in the U.S. For the UK, see The UK Vegetarian Society's list of vegetarian beers.]